We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wedding to Remember” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gramercy Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Gramercy Park Hotel to your Saves list
Gramercy Park Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10010 (Gramercy Park)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
25% off of our Suites!
Ranked #34 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A Wedding to Remember”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

My daughter wanted to get married in New York and after doing some research chose The Gramercy as the wedding venue. What a fabulous choice. The setting was just amazing, all the staff were super friendly and the food was top notch. The wedding took place at 7:00pm in the evening on the top terrace of the hotel with the night lights of New York in the backdrop - magnificent. It was well worth the extra effort needed to organise a wedding at long distance.

The nice sized rooms in the hotel were clean and well stocked with lovely toiletries and a fabulous drinks cabinet. The room service breakfast 'the morning after' was superb. I loved this hotel.
If there was a word better than perfect I would use it here !

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

952 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    674
    159
    64
    34
    21
See reviews for
156
314
66
221
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwalk, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

We recently held an event in the penthouse suite and everything about our stay was amazing. The event lasted a few days so we had the pleasure of spending a large amount of time at the hotel. The staff was beyond helpful and happy to work with us on even our craziest of requests. Michelle and Danielle were amazing and helped us in every way possible. I can not say enough good things about the Gramercy Park Hotel!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

This was a part business, mostly pleasure trip. We loved our room, great decor overlooking green space. Seriously, I wanted to take home one of the chairs. The drinks cabinet was very nice as well, quite classy. The bathroom was nice sized, with excellent water pressure, tub, and great toiletry products. The service in the hotel was very good - no complaints at all, and the concierge was very helpful. The Maierlino (?) restaurant was another story, however. We had an "interim" meal there on Friday, as we were too late for lunch, and needed to get a quick bite there before a meeting. The food was very good, but the staff was too cool for school. If you're not a regular; they can't be bothered. We also tried breakfast Saturday morning, but the menu items were too fussy. My husband's scrambled egg dish was truly awful; the waitress did notice it was almost totally uneaten and took them off our bill. Room service breakfast the next morning was a much better choice, with fairly normal menu options and perfectly cooked bacon - really hard to get with room service.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

I've always stayed in huge hotels in New York (the W, Waldorf Astoria, Paramount etc) so wasn't sure what to expect from a 'boutique' hotel in the USA's largest urban sprawl...

I was hooked from the minute I arrived. The hotel is beautifully designed - like a dark, sexy, mysterious play-den in the heart of Manhattan.

Amazing decor, spacious rooms (by NYC standards at least), great facilities, huge roof terrace, beautiful bars and impeccable service made my trip.

The mini-bar in each room is amazing. Described as an 'English Drinks Cabinet', it is a full bar with large bottles of spirits, wines, Champagnes and mixers accompanies by nuts, snacks, crisps, chocolate, candy etc. Definitely a hotel to be naughty in ;-)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

We are a married couple living in new york city. we wanted a nice getaway weekend in the city where we could enjoy room service, watch tv, and chill out. so we booked a room for one night in this hotel. we had heard good things, and it has good reviews. prior to arriving, it took 20 minutes of being on hold just to speak to a reservationist. when we arrived, there was chaos at the check-in desk with nobody making an effort to deal with the customers. so we asked the front desk to take our bags to the room while we grabbed a bite. an hour later, our bags were still on the floor in front of the front desk. at this price, when guests tell the front desk that they have been waiting one hour for their bags to go to room, you'd think the front desk would pull it together. not here. ultimately, we took our bags up to our own room. our experience at the bar was no better. after four requests for a menu from the same person, there were no vegetarian options and they do not even bring out a napkin and utensils. i had to ask four times before getting a napkin. it was like eating at a diner. hotel bars serve food all the time. the fact that this is a bar does not mean they can skimp on top-notch service--not when you charge $19 for a drink. and the room was very disappointing. too small, and the suite to which we were upgraded was worse than the original room we had been assigned. i also note that i am a normal sized woman (size 12), and my body barely could fit through the bathroom door. first time this has happened in my life. when we asked to see a manager we were given the front desk manager and she did not seem to know how to fix a downward spiral of a situation. you'd think someone in the hospitality industry would know how to deal with situations like this. but this woman did nothing to try to ameliorate the situation. and we were told there was no hotel manager present. the first and only time in my long life of going to many many hotels that i had to call the hotel operator from my cell phone since approaching the front deask was not possible. ultimately, fed up with a situation that was just getting more and more disappointing, we turned around and went back to our apartment uptown. this place has a 5-star aesthetic but is in fact a hipster holiday inn with motel 8 service.

Room Tip: Do not book a reservation here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

I've just enjoyed a very, very brief stay in the Gramercy Park Hotel.

The positives: the look, feel, ambiance and smell of the place. The rooms are a good size, beautifully furnished and the beds divine. Loved the toiletries - very classy. The staff are cool yet not so cool that they won't help you (you know the kind of hotel I'm talking about that's overstaffed with resting actors......)

The downsides: swordfish jaws in the lobby don't do it for me (I'm Director of a Marine Charity). Getting breakfast on a Saturday morning proved surprisingly difficult - really not that hard for a place of this class, surely?!

Overall, a good stay and I wish I'd had more time to enjoy the place and its amenities fully.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

In NYC for work. Was prepared to write a good review of the hotel when I left, as I like the rooms and vibe. But that opinion has changed.

It is 930 PM and I am in the hotel working, prepping for a big day tomorrow. Called room service to order dinner. Was told that the in house restaurant has an event so almost all of the room service dinner menu is unavailable. Only one dinner entree is available, otherwise just the late night menu. So if I want frozen pizza and fries, then I am set. If I want regular dinner -- no dice.

Most hotels, if an area is to be closed for the evening, will slip a note under your door letting you know so you can plan in advance. ("we are sorry, but most of room service will not be available tonight because our restaurant is closed.") Manager on duty not aware of why most of the menu is not available. A hotel of this level should not just shut down room service, especially without warning the guests. But this may just be the type of place where, as other guests have written, the nightlife and event business is more important than the regular guest business.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Gramercy Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gramercy Park Hotel

Address: 2 Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10010
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Gramercy Park , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in New York City
#25 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#32 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#51 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Gramercy Park Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gramercy Park Hotel's Haute Bohemian heritage represents a sensuous vision of artful diversity. Bohemia reinvented for the 21st century with an original combination of styles, with great pieces of furniture and artwork and the extraordinary use of color. It is still the Gramercy Park Hotel in New York City, but honored and renewed in a glorious transformation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Gramercy Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Gramercy Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gramercy Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.