We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gramercy Park Hotel

Save Saved
You added Gramercy Park Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Gramercy Park Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10010 (Gramercy Park)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
An Aid for Your Summer
Ranked #31 of 451 hotels in New York City
Newport, Rhode Island
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

A friend and I spent a weekend in NYC and had a great experience at The Gramercy Park Hotel. The location is one of the best in the city with great shops, restaurants and bars within walking distance. The decor at the GPH is warm and inviting. The staff is friendly and helpful and breakfast at the Terrace reminds me of the small cafes in the South of France. RCS

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

753 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    530
    123
    54
    28
    18
See reviews for
127
250
58
173
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carmel Valley, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

GPH is a top-tier hotel, with outstanding style, quality and focus on the traveler's experience. I've stayed there on many occasions, and have always been very pleased. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

Our recent stay at Gramercy Park Hotel was a mixed bag.

The highlight is that one of the best restaurants in NYC happens to be there, Maialino another Danny Meyer treasure :-)

The location is also great and so close to a super part of the city and some of the best restaurants. I wish however that the hotel itself lived up to the promise. The service while ok in general is a little lacking with some details not up to snuff.

- Our paper was never delivered in 4 days
- The coffee service in the lobby which is supposed to be ready at 7AM was still nowhere to be found at 7:40, which is a little frustrating when seeking the caffeine fix

Those however are minor annoyances compared to some of the larger issues:

- The rooms, at least the one we had was to put it mildly functionally obsolete. Even though we had a suite the layout was peculiar at best. The bathroom was quite funky with doors that blocked access to the shower, and a sink in the hallway to the bedroom which was almost impossible to use as it totally blocked access. The room also had the tired look and feel of staying at your grandmothers house that had not been touched or updated for 50 years. Not kitschy, just tired.

- One of the biggest issues we had was the smell of smoke from the fireplace that totally permitted the lobby, not in a good way but rather in an overpowering and offensive way. It sort of smelled like there had been a destructive fire that was never totally cleaned up

Overall - Probably not our first choice in the future which is to bad because for us it is in the perfect location.

Of course we will come by every time we are in the city for one of the best restaurant experiences available anywhere!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth M, General Manager at Gramercy Park Hotel, responded to this review, March 23, 2012
Dear FFCW,
Thank you for your review. We agree that Danny Meyer’s Maialino is one of the very best restaurants in New York.
We are very sorry that we missed on some of the details like delivering your newspaper and setting up coffee late. These oversights are very unusual for our establishment, and unacceptable.
We are also sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the layout of our Avenue Suite. This particular room type does feature a unique layout that many guests are very fond of. However, our other room categories feature more traditional floorplans.
We are very sorry that our service fell short of exemplary. We hope you will be so kind as to give us another chance. Thank you for your feedback.
Sincerely,
Elizabeth Mao
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

The gramercy is stunning, the lobby and rooms are staggeringly beautiful. The location is pretty cool, the restaurant downstairs has fantastic food, really great. The bar is uber cool, everyone is very beautiful. We had a corporate rate so got a small suite for around $550 per night. But the aircon just would not turn off, and it was so hot. So after 2 days of technicians we finally blew our lids a bit, and they upgraded us to a mega suite. Two enormous rooms, , lounge, views if the park, drinks trolleys, 2 bars, 2 bathrooms, fantastic shower btw...2 tvs, I mean beautiful, I could live there. And I must say some of the best housekeeping ever. Polish or Russian ladies who tidied our stuff! I mean we have a 9 yo daughter, and we are not really messy, but they straightened everything, and cleaned so perfectly, that I wanted to kidnap one and take her home. They would remember you in the hallway and ask if we needed anything. so good!

My one big gripe? The beds are , in my opinion, just horrible. lumpy, thin mattress. The bedding otherwise was lovely, but you need a good mattress and this was one like something from Goodwill . They really need to address this.

Oh and the bellhop guy, super friendly but never there when you needed him.

Room Tip: Pay as much money as you can....size matters in NYC!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islip, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

My husband and I love to stay for a weekend in Manhattan after the holidays and this is by far our favorite hotel. It is artfully decorated and just a beautiful, comfortable fabulous place to stay. Maialino's restaurant has wonderful food and friendly energetic service. The Jade and Rose bars are great happening spots and the rooftop terrace has wonderful views of the city.
Also a great neighborhood and location. The entire staff could not be more pleasant and helpful. Probably one of our top five stays anywhere.

Room Tip: We stayed in a deluxe room with a seating area and it couldn't have been more comfortable facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth M, General Manager at Gramercy Park Hotel, responded to this review, February 9, 2012
Dear Joann M,
Thank you for your incredibly positive review. We are incredibly honored to have hosted one of your “top five stays anywhere!” Of course, we agree that the Gramercy Park Hotel’s stunning décor is some of the best in NYC. Our incredible modern art collection puts some museums to shame!
GPH truly is an urban resort, with so many offerings under one roof. We are glad that you took advantage of our outlets and experienced Gramercy Terrace, Maialino, and Rose Bar. Also I will be sure to share you compliments with our team members. They are the ones who truly make a hotel stay great.
We hope to see you again soon.
Sincerely,
Elizabeth Mao
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

I was excited to stay at the Gramercy Park Hotel for the first time the other weekend. A three day weekend was just what the doctor ordered and this hotel seemed like the perfect location for a little R&R. The location is great- within walking distance to great restaurants, shopping, etc.. When you walk into the hotel, it feels like walking into a small, European boutique hotel. The colors and decor are rich and interesting, with paintings on the walls of the reception and bar areas that call you over to take a look. We stayed in a suite, which was roomy and comfortable. The restaurant downstairs, Maialino, was fantastic and even though we were unable to get a reservation, dining in the bar area with its fantastic staff and even better food and wine was a great way to spend an evening. Sadly, the Gramercy Terrace, which is upstairs at the hotel, was a huge letdown. The service was atrocious- we went there for two different meals and each time, nobody even came to welcome us and take us to a table. Sitting at our table, I felt like we were in Siberia as the staff proceeded to ignore us despite the fact that the place was pretty much empty. It appeared that there was quite a bit of renovation work going on the weekend that we were there, with workmen ripping up carpets as we stepped off the elevator that opens into the Terrace. We found this strange since the work was happening during prime business hours on a holiday weekend. We had drinks in the Rose Bar and once again, sadly, I felt like a potted plant as I was ignored while sitting in the plush banquette waiting for the server. All in all, it was a good weekend and the location really can't be beat. However, I doubt that we will return to the Gramercy Park Hotel as the service left much to be desired, especially considering the price that we paid each night.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopewell, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

Loved this quirky gem. Interesting decorative touches all over the place. Room was comfortable, clean and inviting, modern amenities but with a retro feel and soft lighting. Leather covered table, velvet covered couch, artfully draped shawl and velvet throw, dark mahogany woodwork and marble in the bathroom ... and yes, the bath, which had been resurfaced, was old-fashioned and probably original, which means that it was long and deep, and for a soaking-in-a-hot-bath-lover like me, that means PERFECT! They just don't make them like that any more! I love the way they have incorporated the old (like the original bath and dark wood floors) into the new.

Room Tip: The rooms on the lower floors on the Lexington Ave side do let in some noise on weekend nights from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gramercy Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gramercy Park Hotel

Address: 2 Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10010
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Gramercy Park , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#25 Business Hotel in New York City
#32 Family Hotel in New York City
#34 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Gramercy Park Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gramercy Park Hotel's Haute Bohemian heritage represents a sensuous vision of artful diversity. Bohemia reinvented for the 21st century with an original combination of styles, with great pieces of furniture and artwork and the extraordinary use of color. It is still the Gramercy Park Hotel in New York City, but honored and renewed in a glorious transformation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tablet Hotels, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, Priceline, MrandMrsSmith, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Gramercy Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Gramercy Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gramercy Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.