We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GPH Rooftop--Incredible Wedding Venue” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gramercy Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Gramercy Park Hotel to your Saves list
Gramercy Park Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10010 (Gramercy Park)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off of our Suites!
Ranked #36 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
NYC
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“GPH Rooftop--Incredible Wedding Venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

The GPH just blew us and our guests away with the reception we held on the rooftop called "The Terrace." The space is a series of unique salons surrounded by a wrap around terrace running the length of the building and fully enclosed in a glass canopy. The city sparkles outside at night with Chrysler Building and skyscaper views. Tons of candles lit the space, lounge seating kept it fresh, and the food got rave reviews. In planning the event, the GPH hospitality staff seems to be trained to just keep saying one word: "Yes." Can we have a non-alcoholic signature drink in addition to the signature cocktail? Yes. Can we have two salumni stations instead of one? Yes. Can staff shell the lobster tails for our guests at the buffet tables? Yes. Instead of 3 GPH desserts, can one dessert be from a specialty ice cream sandwich place we love? Yes. Can our dog stay at the hotel suite with us? Yes. Can we alter the recipes a bit for a couple of dishes? Yes. Can we completely change the proposed menu options? Yes. Yes. Yes. Yes. It was amazing and absolutely not what you will find at other top NYC venues. Michelle Condon, our Coordinator there, made the stress of planning a wedding there melt away. And everything she promised--EVERYTHING--she came through on.

Ours was a wedding that had a few bumps in the planning because a major storm in late summer caused the reception to have to be rescheduled at the last minute. The GPH and Michelle and her managers asked one question when we called on the morning of the storm in a panic: "What can we do to help?" What followed was perhaps the best customer service we've ever experienced.

The team, the space, the food, even the aroma in the lobby when you enter the building, is chic, hip, a touch edgy, and uber-NYC. We can't wait to find excuses to return in the future.

Room Tip: For a splurge to knock your socks off, check out the Penthouse suite that is like a Baronial mansion...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,001 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    714
    166
    65
    34
    22
See reviews for
166
330
68
236
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2011

My definition of luxury is when elegance is done simply.
This hotel does this effortlessly

Room Tip: Avoid the any rooms over the bar if you sleep early
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

This is not my normal type of hotel I usually stay at uber modern minalmalist places but they were full
Thank god loved it at gramercy,don't book here if you want isolation and piece and quite this place is full of life at the weekends great bars great restarants great staff great management

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brazil
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

The hotel is beautiful, with a good location and expensive. If you love Classic styles or a familiar setting, this is not the ideal hotel. This is where people show their designer clothing,purses, accessories, etc. It is a very high end experience that was totally worth it. I could go walking to the Highline Park, the meating pack district, chelsea and I also found many interesting restaurants, wine bars and shops along the way.It is a side of Manhattan very different from Times Square. This is another Manhattan - worth visiting, of course.

My reservation was for 1 bedroom suite. It was big enough. It was dark, full of velvet, nice style, chandelier, closet, good bathroom, the amenities were chosen by a style magazine. All in place. Just the Tv was not very well located and the view was terrible (ugly building in front of my window). The Bed is fantastic. I felt so good under those linens!

I really liked the concierge. They really work for you to have a pleasant experience. I received emails from them, asking my preferences and I also could book the Airport transfer well in advance (of course it is more expensive than other transportation services). I ordered a few items to be shipped to the hotel before I arrived and they were all in my room when I arrived. And I loved their recommendations for restaurants and clubs. They also arranged a reservation for Maialino, their italian restaurant and I loved it! The hotel bar was good, but the people... Only old drunk people.... Not a good place for 30 years old girls looking to flirt or chat. But it was the weekend after Thanksgiving, so, I don't know. Maybe the public is different another time of the year.

The doormen are wonderful, great, polite, helpful but when I checked out I could observe that even the taxis they called for me were charged ($1,50)... And the thing about charging for Wi-fi access... Come on! This is a high end boutique hotel. No need for that!

All in all, it was a good gift that I gave myself staying at Gramercy. Loved the experience.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

We just left the GPH this morning and I was very disappointed. We have family in the Gramercy Park area of NYC so we picked the GPH. The place has red velvet drapes and dark window shades. If you like D&D you may like the place but I wanted Christmas and this place was dark. Manhattan is never cheap but this was too expensive for a mid town hotel at Christmas. My wife stayed at GPH in August and had a good stay but she said today it was her last stay at GPH. I hate to say it but if you want a boutique hotel, stay at Hotel Giraffe a few blocks away. What the hell were the decorators thinking when they did this hotel?

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth M, General Manager at Gramercy Park Hotel, responded to this review, December 8, 2011
Dear TexasWD,
We are very sorry to learn that our décor is not to your liking. One of GPH’s most striking features is its distinct, dramatic design. The hotel features lush velvet curtains, Moroccan tiles, reclaimed lumber, and custom Julian Schnabel-designed fixtures, which come together in a playful juxtaposition of different styles. Like the modern masterworks of art that are displayed throughout the hotel, our eclectic design can evoke an emotional response. We understand that it is not suited to everyone’s taste.

We are sorry that you found the hotel dark. We have recently added additional lighting to our lobby, elevators, hallways, and guestrooms. We understand that you wanted a Christmas feel and we do currently have a gorgeous, sparkling Christmas tree brightening our lobby.
Thank you for sharing your feedback.

Should you change your mind and decide to give us another chance, please feel free to contact me directly.

Sincerely,
Elizabeth A. Mao
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

The hotel is very special... Good for a love-weekend...
At the bar somedy has stolen my vuitton-scarf and the stuff did not care at all... ;-(
Overall the stuff thinks to be from another planet - if you are not a vip they dont care to much.Rosebar is ok, the restaurant is very good! If you like space and light this is not your place as it s dark and quiet small rooms

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Top Contributor
577 reviews 577 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 125 cities Reviews in 125 cities
1,248 helpful votes 1,248 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

It was not without a bit of hesitation that I booked a weekend here to celebrate my mother’s birthday, and I admit access to the park was a major reason why. The website seemed to tout how “cool” and “hip” the hotel was, something of which I am always a little suspicious.

Well, I’m glad I was wrong. From the moment we checked in to the moment we checked out it was an (almost) flawless experience. Accommodations are a bit small but very artistic and quirky; we had a one-bedroom suite overlooking the street and it was more than adequate. Service was fast, efficient, and unpretentious. We ate at the Jade Bar and the Rooftop Terrace, both of which were up to standard for a hotel of this caliber. There were few misses (doorman sent us on a taxi ride to 21 Club without knowing directions) in service and more than enough hits to make up for them.

Those looking for glamor and glitz (Ritz Paris, Plaza, etc.) may feel a bit out of sync here, as the GPH is not trying to emulate these hotels. I felt like I could wear jeans and a t-shirt or a tuxedo and be treated the same either way. There is a very unique buzz here that you have to tune into before you “get it” and I’m glad we did. A place like this can pretty much only exist in a city like New York, and needless to say I’m glad it does.

We’ll be back.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Gramercy Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gramercy Park Hotel

Address: 2 Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10010
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Gramercy Park , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in New York City
#28 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#29 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#54 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Gramercy Park Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gramercy Park Hotel's Haute Bohemian heritage represents a sensuous vision of artful diversity. Bohemia reinvented for the 21st century with an original combination of styles, with great pieces of furniture and artwork and the extraordinary use of color. It is still the Gramercy Park Hotel in New York City, but honored and renewed in a glorious transformation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, MrandMrsSmith, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Gramercy Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Gramercy Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gramercy Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.