We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Buzzing and bountiful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zabar's

Zabar's
2245 Broadway, At 80th St, New York City, NY (Upper West Side)
212-787-2000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 673 Shopping in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Buzzing and bountiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Stayed at the Upper West side and was relieved to discover that this deli was close by! Shame we didn't stumble across it earlier - tremendous variety of deli items and well displayed. Tastings available and the whole atmosphere is 'buzzing' and great! On our last day in NYC we got our lunches and 'flight' meals from here to see us through to VEGAS (beats the sandwich variety on offer at the airport!) - so glad we did! Do visit! It really makes you feel like the locals who know how to eat well and know there stuff.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    55
    11
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Akron, Ohio
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Something for everyone”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Zabars is a great shopping experience. The second floor has everything a cook (amateur to chef) could ever want or need for their kitchen. The main floor has just about any kind of prepared food and everything you might need to prepare your own gourmet treat.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
515 reviews 515 reviews
221 attraction reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
191 helpful votes 191 helpful votes
“More than just coffee, great Italian gluten free items too!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

When we go to NYC, we always pick-up coffee for my husband. Now we have to stock up on their great GF items for me too! While they have a small section in the store of chocolate rugelach, cinnamon walnut rugelach, various brownies and Udi’s products, it appears they have a larger selection online (pasta, etc.). This is great news because eventually they will carry more in the stores. We got the rugelach and a peanut butter brownie and they were all great!
Even if you are not GF, there are tons of things to grab here: prepared food, meats, cheeses, breads, pastas, etc. A place you do not want to miss! Zabar's in a NY institution!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Best Bagels in New York City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

The lure of a good bagel bought us to Zabar's and it did not disappoint. The Deli is amazing with a wide variety of produce - not to be missed. The upstairs shop selling mostly kitchen wares is also a great place to spend some time. Appliances etc, are a great price compared to other places in the city.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kensington, Maryland
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“An Institution”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

An over-the-top deli? Yes, but soooo much more. A huge assortment of cheeses, meats, prepared foods, coffees, breads, jarred food, canned food. Hand sliced salmon, with a choice of several different kinds. Smoked fish, Serrano ham from Spain, delish herrings, pickled, in wine, in cream sauce with onions. This is the deli and institution of the upper West side that is a must to see. The upstairs has housewares galore. The best of the best found here!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zabar's also viewed

 

Been to Zabar's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zabar's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.