We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely island” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Roosevelt Island

Roosevelt Island
New York City, NY
Improve this listing
Ranked #75 of 634 Attractions in New York City
Type: Islands, Outdoors
Attraction details
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Lovely island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

Really just went to the Island do we could ride the Tram, which is covered by the MTA pass.
Views back to Manhattan were fab and we ate at the Diner, a two minute walk from the tram. Lovely good and nice staff.
After that we just went for a nice walk around the Island.
It was nice to just get away from it all for an hour or so and five minutes by tram and your back in the main city.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    92
    26
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Al Qahirah, Egypt
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

It is a small island, with all facilities, that you can walk the whole island in maximum 2 hours. I took a 10 min walk to the south end of the island and visited FDR Four Freedoms park. It was beautiful. The walk was peaceful with great views of the NYC skyline and the park was stunning. NYC amazes me with how many things there are to see and do at all expense levels. A must do for any traveler to experience.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Freedom park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

Take the Ariel tram and on arrival take a short walk along the river heading south, enter the park past the old ruin ( smallpox hospital ) climb the steps and the park opens up before your eyes. Really peaceful and a great place to relax, chill and get away from the bustle of Manhattan for a few hours, The views of the Manhattan sky line are great and a bit different.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
“Who Knew?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

I have seen the Tram in movies, but I didn't really know this place existed. What a charming and beautiful place to visit within the big city. The tram ride was fun - very quick and little wait as well. And the island itself felt like a small village within the city of Manhattan. I took the island bus for only 25 cents and drank in the warm and friendly community atmosphere. After returning back to the visitor centre I took a 10 min walk to the south end of the island and visited FDR Four Freedoms park. It was beautiful. The walk was peaceful with great views of the NYC skyline and the park was stunning. NYC amazes me with how many things there are to see and do at all expense levels. A must do for any traveller to experience.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
86 attraction reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“Quite oassis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

You can take the tram from 59th Ave and 2nd Ave or the F train gets you to and from Roosevelt Island. I had a 7-day metro card so I used that to pay the tram.
We didn’t have the time or energy to see the whole island but we walked 15 minutes from the tram to Franklin D. Roosevelt Four Freedoms Park. The park is named after the four freedoms speech FDR made: freedom of speech and expression, freedom to worship, freedom from want and freedom from fear. The park is a tribute of FDR's life and work.
In this park stands Renwick Smallpox Hospital that was opened for 100 years and is now a ruin.
The view from the park is gorgeous. You wouldn’t think you were in New York City if it wasn’t for the skyline view of Manhattan on one side and Queens on the other.
The red buses go around the island all the time but we grabbed a regular city bus that goes to and from Manhattan to get us back to the subway.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roosevelt Island also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Roosevelt Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roosevelt Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.