We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food - Nice Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dizzy's

Dizzy's
511 9th St, New York City, NY 11215-4223
718-499-1966
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4,518 of 11,180 Restaurants in New York City
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
New York, NY
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good Food - Nice Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Had train problems recently and I was walking along 5th Avenue trying to get home. I passed many nice looking restaurants but most looked too upscale for me. When I saw Dizzy's I knew it was just the place since I love diners. The staff was very pleasant and the menu had many options that sounded good. I had Dad's Meatloaf with roasted Garlic Mashed Potatoes and string beans. The meal was delicious! I cleaned my plate. I will have to go back to try their other options.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    13
    8
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Big portions, food could have been better prepared”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Went to Dizzy's for lunch last week and ordered a cheesesteak sandwich -- tasty with a rich garlic flavor but the meat was overcooked and a bit dried out. They top the sandwich with a rubbery mozzarella, too -- would have been better with a melted cheese that retained its gooeyness. Normally I clean my plate, but this one was so big that it would have been better if shared.

The place doesn't look all that clean either. Avoid the table at the far end of the dining room -- unless you like a view of the garbage bin.

I'd come back to sample something else on the menu, but there are many other restaurants in Park Slope I want to try first. The F train's Seventh Ave. stop will bring you to Dizzy's door if you get off through the 8th Ave. exit.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Nice, kids loved it better than us”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Well... it's very popular. Big portions. Nice and fresh food. I found it a bit odd that granola and fruit came without yogurt. service was ok but a bit slow, not too eficient. I'd go back only if the kids ask me to.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“5th Avenue / 8th Avenue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

As a fan of the 8th Avenue for years I was delighted to find that the newer 5th Avenue location is a fun yet original addition to the Dizzy's family. Same welcoming staff with a charming atmosphere and great brunch menu.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Had lousy food for Sunday brunch.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Dizzy's we went to was at 5th St & President in Brooklyn. Amaretto & Pecan French Toast was burned. English Muffins were burned. Biscuits and Gravy looked like someone got sick. If it wasn't for our family enjoying being together, it was otherwise a disaster. Forget this place!

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dizzy's also viewed

 

Been to Dizzy's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dizzy's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.