We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fan experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Daily Show with John Stewart

The Daily Show with John Stewart
The Daily Show Studios, 513 W. 54th St., between 10th and 11th Sts., New York City, NY (Manhattan)
212/586-2477
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #190 of 809 Activities in New York City
Type: Performances
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Popular Comedy Central show is taped daily (except Fridays) at The Daily Show studios.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Great fan experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Watched twitter feed to get tickets and was pleased to have an opportunity to go to to May 6th taping. Quite a few VIP tickets were given out and only 120 reserved tickets were honored. Not bad considering the guest was a major news caster and international anchor.

Rules were strict but not unreasonable. Security people must be stern, so I can't sympathize with previous reviewers.

Definitely one more thing odd the bucket list. Next thing will eventually be SNL.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    11
    4
    1
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Totally worth it!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We were lucky enough to get tickets on the website almost six weeks before. This "ticket" basically just allows you to stand in the line - when you arrive there they give you ticket numbers - but you are still not guaranteed a seat in the studio. We got there at 3:30pm and were numbers 193 and 194. It was very nailbiting standing there as the studio seats only about 220, and there were alot of VIP tickets that day. They first cut off the line 4 people in front of us, but then called the next two and then finally -us! Were were so excited, felt sorry for the 10 people behind us that didn't get a chance to experience this. When we got inside there a great vibe, the warm-up came out, made fun of some of the audience mambers and really got us riled up. Jon Stuart then came out for a quick Q&A - he is so effortlessly funny. He told us that we were gonna have a Hollywood star as a guest, but didn't tell us who: only to find out it was Robert Downey Jnr! WOW! He is so professional and good at what he does that it is all filmed in a single take! Definitely worth seeing if you have chance!!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
249 reviews 249 reviews
61 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“The best source of news”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

He is so smart and funny. I watch him every night. He should run for political office because he's sane and has common sense.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Mass
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Seats are really limited. I mean REALLY limited.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Ticketing is supposed to start at 2:30. At 2:10 there was already a line twice the length of the building. We got tickets 175 and 176 out of about 200. I'd get there earlier.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A Good Way to Spend the Whole Day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

The other postings here give an excellent description of what to expect during the admission experience. When I arrived to line up @ 1:15 pm, I had a book, a banana and a pastrami sandwich. My "date" joined me about 20 minutes later. At 2:30, things got rolling. We scored #44 & #45. We killed the next 2 hours at the cafe in the Manhattan Motor Car Company in the next block. Really!! It's the nicest car dealership I've ever seen! Once in the studio, our numbers landed us dead center, about 4 rows up from the floor. It was great to be that close when Jon came out to do his Q&A, but less so during taping - there was a little obstruction from the equipment operators.

If the weather is temperate, you'll have a nice experience. I plan to go back with friends. There's a metal dector at the entrance soooo . . belts, bracelets, etc. You know the drill, make it easier for everyone and leave 'em home.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Daily Show with John Stewart also viewed

 

Been to The Daily Show with John Stewart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Daily Show with John Stewart, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.