We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hole-in-the-wall, but fun!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Shake Rattle & Roll Dueling Pianos

Shake Rattle & Roll Dueling Pianos
22 Warren St., New York City, NY 10007 (Midtown)
+1 917-921-4128
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Shake Rattle & Roll Dueling Pianos like an insider
$23*
and up
Ranked #448 of 1,633 things to do in New York City
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Dueling Pianos show every Saturday night 10pm-2am. All request rock n roll party for groups of 2, 20 or 200!
Franklin Park, NJ
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Hole-in-the-wall, but fun!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

This bar is in a random part of the Port Authority bus terminal, which can be a little off-putting. People are crammed into chairs and benches at the back and it's a little uncomfortable. However, once the piano players get started, it's actually quite fun. The musicians will try to play any request, especially if it's accompanied by a tip. If you like to sing along and don't ming silliness, you'll have a good time.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    3
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Better places to go”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

This place is awful.
My ticket was only about $12, but the whole experience had a focus on getting money from the patrons - and not at all subtly. There was a 2-drink minimum spend, although I only had one and nobody tried to make me buy another - probably because the friends I was with drank more than enough to make up the difference. One person in your group must give their credit card to hold the tab in case your party doesn't pay up. Oh and the coat check is apparently mandatory, although I don't know what they think they're going to do if you refuse.

To request a song, you must tip, and if they think you haven't given enough money, they won't play the song and will shame you for it as well. Anybody can pay to stop them in the middle of a song if they don't like it, so if that was the song you requested, you basically paid them for nothing. Maybe the performers don't get paid much and so rely heavily on tips? I don't know, but I'd rather pay a higher ticket price for a better experience than spend the night being constantly 'encouraged' to fork out more and more cash. This attitude gave the whole experience a bit of a sour note.

You can pay to have them write anything you like on a board up on the stage. Also a lot of joking around, I don't have a problem with dirty jokes but this stuff wasn't even funny and was just plain immature. Also getting people to get up on stage and encouraging them to dirty dance/touch each other etc, like a recently engaged couple, a girl having her birthday. It wasn't offensive or anything, just.... boring.

There wasn't really a 'duelling' aspect to the experience. It may as well just be a piano bar that takes requests. There are much better ways to spend an evening in NYC - don't bother with this place.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dan g, Guest Relations Manager at Shake Rattle & Roll Dueling Pianos, responded to this review, June 2, 2012
Dexter,

Thank you for your comments. We are sorry you didn't enjoy your evening at Tobacco Road.

As you may, or may not, be aware, most cabaret venues have a drink minimum, in order to cover the costs of the show they are providing. And many intimate showrooms such as ours do strongly urge guests to take advantage of the coat check facility, as coats and bags take up precious space that other guests would like to use for seating.
For those who have never been to a Dueling Pianos show, or any piano bar for that matter, all of them are request driven. Piano players work for tips, and in a crowded room, the requests given by guests are what drive the show.
We look forward to serving you again, and hope you come back to Tobacco Road, where it's never the same show twice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great way to unwind!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

I took my three adult children to the Dueling Pianos at Tobacco Road during a recent trip to NYC. We found out about it through a website that offered discounts to events (goldstar.com). We all had been several times to dueling piano bars, and this one was one of the most fun. It was a great way to unwind after long days of sightseeing. The guys at the piano were great, and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Be sure and make a reservation, because the shows sell out. It's loud and fun - so get up and dance!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dan g, Guest Relations Manager at Shake Rattle & Roll Dueling Pianos, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
Hi SheHaws! Thanks so much for making SHAKE RATTLE & ROLL a part of your NYC visit! We're thrilled you enjoyed the show!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piscataway, NJ
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Belly laughs galore”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

What a fun show! The dueling pianists were a blast and we loved their different onstage personalities. They played such great music - all audience request. After the show, my throat was sore the whole next day because I sang along so much the night before. Highly recommend this venue and show for anyone, but it seemed that those who attended with a large group had even more fun! We had a reservation - DO that because there were people waiting to get in who had no reservation! Note: I used Groupon to book. What a deal!

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dan g, Guest Relations Manager at Shake Rattle & Roll Dueling Pianos, responded to this review, February 13, 2012
Hi CleoMurray!

Thanks so much for being a part of the fun, and posting such a rockin' review! Let us know the next time you want to come back. We look forward to seeing you back again, and remember, it's never the same show twice!

Mark Weiser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
316 reviews 316 reviews
99 attraction reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
179 helpful votes 179 helpful votes
“Dueling Pianos”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

Our group---5 couples---found a deal on Groupon, and decided to give this place a try. the deal was $10 pp with 2 drinks included. We had such a good time. Good hits, bad hits, raunchy dancing, it was a fun night

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dan g, Guest Relations Manager at Shake Rattle & Roll Dueling Pianos, responded to this review, February 10, 2012
Hi Lollygal!

Thanks for rockin' out with us! We hope to see you back soon for more good songs, and bad songs!

Mark Weiser
SHAKE RATTLE & ROLL Dueling Pianos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shake Rattle & Roll Dueling Pianos also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Shake Rattle & Roll Dueling Pianos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shake Rattle & Roll Dueling Pianos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.