We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lincoln Plaza Cinema” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lincoln Plaza Cinemas

Lincoln Plaza Cinemas
1998 Broadway, 68th St., New York City, NY (Manhattan)
212/336-5020
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #499 of 810 Activities in New York City
Type: Movie Theaters, Amusement
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Movie theater with 3-D viewing capability. Children's movies are a speciality of this popular theater.
Toronto Ontario
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Lincoln Plaza Cinema”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Just in case you miss out on the free Thursday performances at the David Rubinstein Atrium at Lincoln Center, you can cross the street and see great indie/foreign films for about $12. The theater has a small screen but the subjects of the films are so interesting, we didn't mind at all. We saw the film "Renoir" and were pleasantly entertained and comfortable.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    7
    7
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
710 reviews 710 reviews
397 attraction reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
396 helpful votes 396 helpful votes
“"Ginger & Rosa" just the latest of many gems screening at Lincoln Plaza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

There have been so many excellent films I have seen at Lincoln Plaza Cinemas over the years, and my most recent visit there gave me another one of those quintessential film-watching experiences. The kind of experience where you walk out of the theater completely enraptured and wanting to go over so many details again in your head - what really happened, why the characters acted the way they did, the things the filmmaker did that really made the film amazing.

I have also seen many films there that were quality films that I either didn't like, or just didn't feel delivered on the hype I'd heard about them from critics and the awards-nominating community. "Amour" was one of those - I found it relentlessly depressing and not remarkable in any way. It's not that I don't "enjoy" movies about death sometimes - there was certainly a lot about Ginger & Rosa that one might consider depressing, but it was well-rounded and uplifting. Amour was just a downer.

This weekend when we think about going to the movies, the first thing we will consider is "hey, what's showing at Lincoln Plaza?"

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
“Terrible service at this theater”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

This place is terrible. Well, to give some credit, they do get very good films. But everything from the staff to the management to the ownership is terrible, and really do not care about the customers

To start, they are almost the only theater that does not take credit cards. To say that in this modern era of convenience that is inconsiderate of the customers is an understatement, but apparently, from what staff says, the owner wants to keep that extra 2 or 3%, even as ticket prices have risen. But you add to that the lack of service and the "I don't care attitude" and its a tough price to pay for admittedly good films

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, MS
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“New York deserves a better "independent/foreign film" theater”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Saw "Amour" during the Christmas 2012 holiday. I love foreign/independent films, and this theater specializes in these types of films. However, just because one wants to see a foreign/independent film in the 21st century, one shouldn't be punished with horrible seats, screens no bigger than televisions, nasty folks at the concession counter, and NO CREDIT CARDS accepted for tickets or snacks. The tickets were $12, I believe. It was old, rundown, and dirty. Hey, New York City. You deserve better. Although I come to NY to see films I can't see at home, my husband refuses to go back to this theater.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Top Contributor
309 reviews 309 reviews
89 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Small, European Award Winners”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

This is the best place in my neighborhood. The theaters are tiny and fill up fast. The films are always excellent because this is the theater in new york for European and Asian award winners and American small movies, all of which in recent years have been superior to the blockbusters in my opinion. So if you love movies, other cultures and want to have a New York experience this is the place. They even have real food at the concession stand!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lincoln Plaza Cinemas also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Lincoln Plaza Cinemas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lincoln Plaza Cinemas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.