We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Russian Tea Room

The Russian Tea Room
150 West 57th Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)
(212) 581-7100
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2,716 of 11,765 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: Russian, Eastern European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Cross street: Between 6th and 7th Avenues
Transit: N, Q, R to 57th Street/7th Avenue F to 57th Street B, D, E to 7th Avenue/53rd Street 1, 2, A, B, C, D to Columbus Circle
Description: Opulent and grand, The Russian Tea Room in New York offers elegant fine dining in sophisticated surroundings. Superb continental cuisine with Russian fare is the key focus at the exquisite Russian Tea Room. The elegant interior features bold red leather banquettes and Art Deco design. Full of character, Russian Tea Room has been a cultural hub in New York for over 80 years, after the members of the Russian Imperial Ballet founded the restaurant in 1927. Full of delicious classics, the menu includes signature dishes like beef stroganoff, poached lobster salad or chicken kiev with caramelized wild rice. High Tea at The Russian Tea Room includes sandwiches and blinis along with cupcakes, seasonal scones and petits fours. A fine selection of loose leaf teas will complement the high tea, with the optional accompaniment of champagne. Close to New York's Carnegie Hall, the vibrant tradition of the Russian Tea Room legacy is still alive to this day.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Interesting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Have heard of this venue for many years and finally visited it on a 'toptable' deal in February. Food and service were okay, but i expected the interior to be more'sensational' Seemed tired decor, and the 'booth type seatin we had was not comfortbale.Food was adequate, but not special.Would not go again

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    240
    186
    132
    72
    58
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
perth
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Superb food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

Great food, presentation,service,the decor is amazing, if you visit New York you must visit the russian tea rooms.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern Ontario
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
346 helpful votes 346 helpful votes
“Another gem in New York City.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

While we were in New York City last month I took my daughter to The Russian Tea Room for her birthday lunch. The Russian Tea Room is just one out of many, many gems in New York City. I had made the reservation earlier in the week via their website. Although I would have preferred to bring my daughter there for high tea and petit fours (especially since we made petit fours before, which is not an easy task, to put it mildly!) but the times for tea just didn’t work into our schedule.

It was a beautiful summer day so we walked to the restaurant from our hotel. I was excited to visit the Tea Room because of all the history it held. I knew about all the movies and tv shows that were filmed there over the years, however I didn’t realize it until I read on their website that the Tea Room was founded over eighty years ago by the Russian Imperial Ballet. And I also read Madonna used to work at the coat check there...it really is quite the fascinating place. Those are just a few little interesting facts, there are so many more.

The atmosphere in the restaurant as you can imagine is very different, lots of red, gold and amazing art work on the walls. We were seated at a booth that was very roomy and comfortable. The linens and china were lovely and the service was excellent. My daughter and I both enjoyed our lunch. My daughter is a vegetarian and she had no problem finding something on the menu to order. After our lunch they were so kind to bring my daughter her dessert with a lit birthday candle on it. We thought the cheesecake we ordered would be just your typical cheesecake, but not so, my daughter and I decided that it was by far the best cheesecake we had ever tasted. We couldn’t quite put our finger on what made it so yummy, but nonetheless it was pretty amazing, I would go back just for the cheesecake alone.

If you do visit the Tea Room make sure you take a trip downstairs to see the hundreds, maybe even thousands of Russian Dolls. There are also rooms upstairs (where they have high tea) that apparently you can have a look at, but we had to get going so we didn’t get a chance to see what the upstairs was like. There are four floors in all and from what I read on their website the restaurant can be booked for private parties, weddings and so forth.

I would recommend The Russian Tea Room ... I'm really glad we went!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
343 reviews 343 reviews
213 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
332 helpful votes 332 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

My wife had salmon and I had the NY strip steak. Service was very good, a little too quick but we didn't mind as was first night and we were shattered. Place is very old, hasn't had a facelift since the 70's. Very red inside reminds me of a Chinese restaurant. Very smart people inside and was. A pleasure coming here for dinner.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie, Maryland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Pricey but Sweet”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Visited the Russian Tea Room on a whirlwind visit to New York. Had heard nice things about this restaurant and I wanted to try it out, so we stopped in for brunch. It was quite delicious, and we were not disappointed. Of course we could have probably gotten a bigger, just as yummy brunch elsewhere for a lot less. The ambience was really nice, the wait staff was friendly, helpful, and attentive. So, if you're looking for a nice, quiet nook in the city, and you don't mind the prices, then I would recommend you stop by.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Russian Tea Room also viewed

 

Been to The Russian Tea Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Russian Tea Room, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.