We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant and cool” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Modern

The Modern
9 W. 53rd Street, The Museum of Modern Art, New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)
212-333-1220
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Modern is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #35 of 11,777 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $90 - $100
Cuisines: American, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Cross street: Between 5th and 6th Avenues
Description: The Dining Room at The Modern features Chef Gabriel Kreuther’s inspired French-American cuisine, served in a stunning space overlooking MoMA’s Sculpture Garden. Dinner options include an eight-course Tasting Menu or a $98 four-course prix fixe menu with diverse options for each course, while lunch offers a $55 three-course menu. The restaurant also boasts an award-winning wine program as well as a carefully curated list of cocktails, beer and spirits. The Modern’s Dining Room accepts reservations 28 days in advance. The restaurant also includes the vibrant and lively Bar Room (reservations encouraged), and a Bar & Lounge area that welcomes guests on a walk-in basis.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Elegant and cool”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

When you have been shopping in the noisy city before lunch, take a break and sit down here for a while. It is the best relaxing and air conditioned place and close to everything.

The food is amazing! The wines are too! When I am in New York, I am always trying to squeeze in a visit to this restaurant at lunch time. Last time I had the best meal ever! Spätzle, tuna carpacchio and foie gras on top. As a starter I had the wild mushroom soup with fried dumplings filled with chorizo. A glass of sauvignon blanc with this. I was in heaven and I am thinking of this meal more often than I should.

I have been here alone, with family and with friends. I would not bring my youngest son (9 years) because I am unfortunately convinced that he would prefer another menu ...

If you like tasty food, if you are willing to pay a little bit more than you are doing at Applebee's - visit this place. But please - don't tell anyone else :)

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    436
    132
    39
    16
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Noisy!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Dined on 3/23/2013












Food




.



Ambience




.



Service




.



Noise Level




Energetic.



If you want a quiet, elegant and romantic meal, this is not the place. The service was constantly interrupting conversation and, unfortunately, the sommelier was trying to explain the wine pairings but was drowned out from the very high decibel level in the dining room. The food was decent, but not excellent. I found the atmosphere to not be comfortable or relaxing. It seemed to me that they were training servers on the six of us as they seemed confused most of the time. There are better places for the money. Some of my favorites in this category for relaxing, world class food & traditional dining are Barbetta, Eleven Madison Park, Daniel, Per Se, Jean Georges, Le Bernardin & Gramercy Tavern.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Kentucky
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A delight !!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I really had a great meal in this restaurant! The prices are really interesting and very nice staff!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

The Modern is a elegant, lovely restaurant. It is pricey, we paid around $200 for the prix fixe menu for two and drinks etc - although you only pick 4 courses, you get served around 10 and they even gave us three little cakes each to take away. The staff were attentive but not pushy and the food was exquisite. If you're looking for something similar but less pricey, the bar room they had at the front of the restaurant looked great.

Definitely would visit again - but only for a special occasion due to the price.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fully met our high expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Our best dining experience - ever!

From the 'complimentary' canapés to start to the desert and chocolate wagon our experience was fantastic.

Given the overall package, it was not at all outrageously priced.

While not usually adventurous, I took the opportunity to try some unusual dishes and was glad I did.

And of course being attached to MOMA the dishes and table settings were an experience in themselves.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Modern also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to The Modern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Modern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.