We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Innovative cuisine” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Modern

The Modern
9 W. 53rd Street, The Museum of Modern Art, New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)
212-333-1220
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Modern is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #37 of 11,751 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $90 - $100
Cuisines: American, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Cross street: Between 5th and 6th Avenues
Description: The Dining Room at The Modern features Chef Gabriel Kreuther’s inspired French-American cuisine, served in a stunning space overlooking MoMA’s Sculpture Garden. Dinner options include an eight-course Tasting Menu or a $98 four-course prix fixe menu with diverse options for each course, while lunch offers a $55 three-course menu. The restaurant also boasts an award-winning wine program as well as a carefully curated list of cocktails, beer and spirits. The Modern’s Dining Room accepts reservations 28 days in advance. The restaurant also includes the vibrant and lively Bar Room (reservations encouraged), and a Bar & Lounge area that welcomes guests on a walk-in basis.
Bretagne
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Innovative cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

A fantastic restaurant, innovative and creative chef, perfect service and incredibly good food at the MoMa museum. In addition, culture as you look on the sculpture garden. If you do not want to eat or pay as much, go to the other side, the cafe or the bar. Food also great and small portions tapas style will enable you to taste varied dishes. Everything delicious!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    431
    132
    39
    16
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Big City Cool”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Stopped by with friends and had a great time. Great vibe, high energy- interesting menu. Very fun for locals and visitors. Expensive, but worth it.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A Great Dinner Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We (myself and my partner) celebrated his birthday at The Modern in February.

We were eating in the dining room and had the 4-course menu. The atmosphere was really good and the place seemed buzzing.

The service was fantastic. Very attentitive and made you feel welcome.

The food was exceptional. The plates might seem small but with all the little add ons and surprises you get with your meal you'll be surprised how full you are by the time you leave! The lobster main course is a must!

It is expensive but worth it!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best food ,best service and a very interesting experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

My husband and I went here bu recommendation. We live in London and love the great options we have to eat out in the city so we were looking to try some of the best that NEw York has to offer in that area and we weren't dissapointed.

We booked well in advanced and arrived on time to our reservarion to make sure we had no problems. Now here in brief why we loved it so much.

Location: awesome! Just right next door to the famous Moma
Place: trendy and chic decorarion as expected from a place like this.
Service: IMpecable, simply outstanding, expect to feel special.
Food: amazing, surprising, interesting, delicious, also portions might look small but don't let that fool you, this is a set menu that has enough courses and little add ons to make you feel more than satisfied at the end of the night.
Ambience: Cool enough for an special night out with friends, smart and elegant enough for an important business meal put and romantic enough to make me and my husband want to come back again to celebrate an anniversary.

Overalll experience: outstanding!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

My daughter and I dined at The Modern on New Years Eve. The food was delicious, service exceptional and the atmosphere, band and NYE extras were perfect for us.
We will be back next time we visit New York.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Modern also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to The Modern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Modern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.