We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, great, great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Yakitori Totto

Yakitori Totto
251 W 55th St, New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)
212 245 4555
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #896 of 11,595 restaurants in New York City
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Asian, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Vista, CA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great, great, great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

I've started scheduling all my visits to NYC with a trip here. The food is great and I have always had good service. I really like the different 'parts' on this menu. Hearts, gizzards, and the like! All of it taste good. I've started venturing into more of the grilled veggies here and all of it is excellent. Finally, great choice of sake.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    48
    41
    10
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A Tasty and Fun Adventure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

My sister and I ventured out to try this little hole in the wall and had such a fun and delicious dining experience. Restaurant is small. We were happy to sit at the bar to be close to all the action. Very busy place and there was a line to some extent from the moment we arrived. Staff was helpful and pleasant. I am an adventurous eater, my sister is not. I was so happy when she came out of her dining comfort zone and tried the yakitori chicken hearts...they were delicious! As was the cheese and the pork with scallions and ponzu sauce. Everything we ordered was tasty and we ordered a lot! The sake can be pricey but they are very generous with it so you won't be disappointed. Would and will return on our next visit to NYC.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awesome place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Had a great time here. Nice atmosphere to eat good food and drinks with workers. A genuine yakitori place to check out. Get the aburi mackerel dish.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Tasty robatas!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

Everything we ate was surprisingly good. Even though the skewers are the house specialty, the fried octopus and tuna tataki were amazing. The lightly fried tofu melts in your mouth.
The sake selection is ample and well selected.
The crowd was a mix of about 50% Japanese people and the rest were young locals.
I look forward to going back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“My new favorite NYC restaurant ... not easy to find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

This restaurant was next door to our hotel, but I would not have known it ... instead, it was recommended by a business associate (who is Korean and lives in NYC). It was a fabulous recommendation!! Went there twice.

It is located on 55th St between Broadway and 8th Ave, up a set of steep steps to the 2nd floor. It gets very busy for lunch (get there by 12noon). I had the Karubi Don, which is basically 3 sticks of short rib on top of a large bowl of rice with an over easy egg (you can ask for the egg on the side or skip it) you mix in with the rice. It also comes with Miso soup and a nice salad, all for $12 at lunch. The dumplings for an appetizer are also excellent.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yakitori Totto also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Yakitori Totto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yakitori Totto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.