We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rocky on Broadway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cadillac Winter Garden Theatre

Cadillac Winter Garden Theatre
1634 Broadway, New York City, NY 10019-6852 (Manhattan)
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #176 of 634 Attractions in New York City
Attraction details
Indiana
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Rocky on Broadway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

We saw Rocky on Broadway at the Winter Garden Theater and it was amazing. The special effects are really cool and the final fight actually has real punches. The acting is very good and the music fits well into the show. If you are a fan of the Rocky movies you will love this. If you are a fan of Broadway you will enjoy it.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    17
    2
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
lizza13
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
54 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“Beautiful Theatre - Mamma Mia playing there now”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We went to see Mamma Mia there. Play was great, building is beautiful. Don't plan on buying food or drinks in there.. 5$ for a cheap bottle of water... 8$ for a chocolate bar. And they do check bags when going in.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Mamma Mia”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic deal on matinee seats fir mid week. However the staff in the theatre are mostly old and cranky. And dont get too thirtsy-water is $5 a bottle !!! Then they give you wine in a cup with a lid like a child's sippee cup ! Ummmm i think adults kniw how to drink wine. Even if it did cost $14 per cup. !!! Great show but the theatre is -old and tired

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
51 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Winter theatre, New York”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We attended to go and see Mamma Mia and were not disappointed.
The theatre is just off Times square at the side of Ellens stardust diner (tried waiting for this and gave up after a hour in line with no movement)
Seated in the stalls at the front we had fantastic seats and really enjoyed the show, the sound was great.
The theatre was prebooked before we travelled so wasnt cheap, around $136 per ticket but you could chance your arm on Times square and try to pick up cheaper tickets, the best seats go first however so dont expect to get front row for $50.
Good clean toilets and refreshments available half way through.
My only moan would be the seats seemed a little small.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Definitely not our favorite Broadway venue!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

A beautiful theater, but good looks are only skin deep!
The sound quality for Mama Mia was the worst we have ever experienced!
The Winter Garden needs to make an investment in sound equipment upgrades and training for their sound techs!
Broadway theaters should be capable of providing much better production values than what the Winter Garden is delivering!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cadillac Winter Garden Theatre also viewed

 

Been to Cadillac Winter Garden Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cadillac Winter Garden Theatre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.