We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Broadway theater.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palace Theatre

Palace Theatre
1564 Broadway, New York City, NY (Manhattan)
212 730-0021
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #145 of 633 Attractions in New York City
Attraction details
NJ
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Charming Broadway theater.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We saw "Annie" at this theater. It is a classic theater from vaudeville days. Not a big place. We had orchestra seats, center, fantastic view, for around $70 a ticket.The lobby is small, you if you are early, you may have to wait in line outside for the inside doors to open. Ours did 30 minutes before the show's start time. As it is an old theater, the seats a little cramped. Everytime the guy in front of me fidgeted, and he did a lot, he bumped my knees. The ushers were efficient and helpful, even suggested a booster for the kid. The theater has historical beauty,

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    13
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Rockville, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good show, bad usher”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed 'Annie', though can't beat the original. Major con: our seats were in a balcony box and the usher was not clear on where we were supposed to go. 15 minutes later, usher gets pissy that we're in someone else's seats and nastily banishes us up a hard-to-see stairwell where there is no one around to guide us. Set a bad tone before the first note.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“slm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

went to watch annie, the show was excellent, the front of house staff were really friendly. the thetre itself is very nice inside. only paid $65 per ticket and the seats were excellent.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Your standard theater for NYC”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We just got back from seeing Annie at the Palace Theatre and I think it was pretty much your standard theatre experience. We were in the 2nd row center mezzanine and we had a wonderful view, the sound was fabulous and you could really hear everything that was said on stage quite clearly. I also liked that form the mezzanine you could look down and see the orchestra. As usual, the seating was very tight and at my height of 5'3" my knees were hitting the seat in front of me, but I think that is now standard for every show I have seen in NY over the past few years after moving back from years in the west. The other negative is that the bathroom lines during intermission are crazy - we got a tip from another parent to go all the way down to the lower level as the line was much shorter - it was worth the 4 or 5 flights of steps we sprinted down to have not missed anything. The theater itself is an old classic from an era gone by and while it has been upgraded with all of the latest sound and lighting systems it is quite evident with all of the wires that are tacked up along the mezzanine and balcony making their way from the state to wherever they need to go.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful theatre, but a little cramped”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We watched Annie at the Palace Theatre, which was an amazing experience. The lights and sound system were great and the theatre itself was beautiful and classy. There really wasn't much leg room though, which made watching the show a little uncomfortable. I felt really cramped despite only being 5'3' and 120 pounds. It didn't make the experience any less enjoyable, but I feel like I would have been much more comfortable had there been more room. The bathroom upstairs was tiny, but I guess it is to be expected considering it is an old building. I really liked that most of their employees were older, it proved they really enjoyed their job and made it that much more enjoyable. They were super polite and very helpful. Loved it!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palace Theatre also viewed

 

Been to Palace Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palace Theatre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.