We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricilla Queen of the Desert play” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palace Theatre

Palace Theatre
1564 Broadway, New York City, NY (Midtown)
212 730-0021
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #257 of 1,633 things to do in New York City
Attraction details
Watertown, Connecticut
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Pricilla Queen of the Desert play”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

We went to see" Pricilla" at the Palace NYC. This was a very good story and a wonderful play. The costumes were outrageous! They were so colorful and unique. I would definitely go to this play!

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    14
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Priscilla - The Desert Queen”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

The Palace seems to be a broadway theatre of the more classical type. although the show itself is definately not old fashioned.
We have been watching Priscilla - The Desert Queen, a glamourous and fun show with lots of songs from the 80ties.

The Theatre impresses with old candelar, balconies, wood etc - it makes you imagine how the broadway shows must have been some years ago.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apple Valley, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Beautiful theatre, good seat size”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

As a larger woman, I was worried about fitting in the seats in the older, smaller theatres. We had front row mezzanine seats and they were comfortable, even with my body size. Priscilla was excellent and I highly recommend it. The theatre is absolutely beautiful and small enough, you feel like you are in front orchestra. The entry is easily accessible and the line moves fast. Buy your tickets without worry and enjoy yourself!

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Haddam, Connecticut
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2010

The changleir of the Palace Theatre is awesome. The articture of the Palace is amazing.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“West Side Story on a Saturday Night”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2010

The theatre is small and the sound is good. It feels as if you just stepped in off of Times Square--and you did. The stage is probably not 75 yards from the sidewalk.

WSS is a fun show. There was a slight hiccup with a set piece during the 8PM show we saw, but the cast took it in stride.

I'm rating this theatre experience low for a couple of reasons. As theatres go, it's old and a bit outdated--especially the lobby. I was exceptionally disappointed at the crowd. It was a full house, but don't expect an engaging performance because there are so many in the audience who just don't care about behaving in a theatre. Cell phone, chatter, etc.

Attire is all over the place, another, smaller disappointment. Admittedly, it's not opera--but why can't we check denim and shorts at the door for an evening performance?

Also, don't bother to get there early. Shows start about ten minutes late and people are seated throughout the entire performance. That's a terrible way to conduct a show, too.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palace Theatre also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Palace Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palace Theatre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.