We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved Mary Poppins!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of New Amsterdam Theater

New Amsterdam Theater
214 West 42nd St, New York City, NY 10036-7202 (Midtown)
(212) 282-2900
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #84 of 1,633 things to do in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The lavish decor of the Walt Disney theater is the perfect setting for the popular play production of The Lion King.
Granby, Connecticut
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“We loved Mary Poppins!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

I booked Mary Poppins at the New Amsterdam Theater as my children's first New York City show. Since I wasn't sure how the kids would do, I didn't want to spend a lot. We had front row right balcony. These were great for them to be able to see. We did have to look down to see the stage but it was not at all uncomfortable. I would agree with other reviewers that leg room is very tight. Don't bring along a lot of packages and things, as you will be very uncomfortable. The show itself was wonderful! I had gotten the dvd ahead of time to watch at home and it was great to see one of my daughters singing along to the songs she had learned. The best part is that Mary flies up to the right and if you sit on the right side, she'll fly right by. This was certainly the highlight of our New York weekend and I would recommend it for any child over age 5 or 6 who can sit still for two and a half hours with a short intermission.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    229
    81
    23
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Mary Poppins was a spectacular fit for this theatre.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

Mary Poppins was spectacular. From the everchanging dollhouse sets to the singing, dancing, acting, it was one of the best shows I've seen. Lot to take in, but it is a show for all ages to enjoy. The enployees were great, friendly & the theatre beautiful.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Mary Poppins was worth the price.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

The show was great for the entire family. Actors and singing were spot on and my kids loved the characters and special effects. First time on Broadway for the family.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Customer Service!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

What can i say it was our daughters 11th birthday and she hasn't been feeling well recently and we purchased tickets to go see Mary Poppins in NYC at the New Amsterdam Theater. When we arrived at will cal my wife explained our situation to the man at the window about our Daughter and her not doing so well and it being her Birthday and all. My wife inquired to see if there was anything that could be done to make her night more magical. Well let me tell you the gentleman that was working that night could not have done better in our wildest imagination. He got her front row WOW!! incredible human being and great customer service. That guy deserves a raise and a promotion. the only thing i regret is that we did not get his name.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“A spoon full of Sugar !!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Went to two shows earlier in the week Jersey Boys and Spiderman. Mary Poppins was playing in New Amsterdam opposite where 'Spiderman' was playing. My wife decided she would like to see 'Mary Poppins'. We went on Friday 7th Dec 2012, excellent show, wonderful sets, wonderful cast,music and well loved songs set in a beautiful theatre Well worth a visit. 'Oldies' but 'goodies'

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Amsterdam Theater also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to New Amsterdam Theater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Amsterdam Theater, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.