We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wee bit disappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Village Vanguard

The Village Vanguard
178 Seventh Ave. South, New York City, NY 10014 (Manhattan)
212-255-4037
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 784 Nightlife in New York City
Type: Bar/ Clubs, Jazz Bars, Clubs
Attraction details
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“A wee bit disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

Was great to be there to see where my heroes, the great legends of jazz, once played. It it is a fairly dingy cramped basement. Tables are very close together. Vanguard jazz orchestra weren't up to much. Soloists fall into the old trap of trying to cram as many notes as possible into the shortest time. Drinks were reasonably priced and service was good. Glad I went but probably wouldn't go back.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    31
    10
    10
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“must for jazzers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

This basement venue is small, dark, and packed just as a jazz club should be. Music history oozes everywhere.There is a drink minimum. Definitely recommend advanced ticket purchasing.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Wonderful night of jazz”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

I went to see The Christian McBride trio and they didn't disappoint. Its just how you imagine a NYC underground jazz club to be. It was dark and we were sat around dimly lit tables. We had great table service, but just some advice you should get a couple of drinks in before the shows starts as it's annoying for you to interrupt the session trying to order more as the night goes on. A highlight of my time in NYC as the atmosphere was electric and everyone in the room was joining in and the musicians were talking to the audience up close and personal. I felt like I had gone back in time, old school jazz.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Legendary locale”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

This is a legendary jazz club. Acoustics are perfect and the admission prices are only $25 to see great professional musicians.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albury, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“New York Jazz - all we thought it would be!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Went to a 10.30 show of Christian McBride and his big band.......EXCELLENT! In every respect, yes the place is cramped, and dark but that simply adds to the experience. One of our best memories of New York, thanks.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Village Vanguard also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to The Village Vanguard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Village Vanguard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.