We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected find!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Smoke

Smoke
2751 Broadway, New York City, NY (Upper West Side)
212-864-6662
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #191 of 1,632 things to do in New York City
Attraction details
Perth
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Unexpected find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

We had a great night here. Food was very good, and the music was great. The cafe holds about 25 people so the tables are really close together. Dinner served first then music starts. Audience/diners were jazz-savvy - not talking during the music, applauding appropriate breaks, etc. Really good spot.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    17
    5
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“As a Jazz venue the music was of a high standard. The food was very good as well.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2011

We found all aspects of the venue to be very good. The food quality was surprisingly good.
The music was very god as well. In all a good night out

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergerac, France
Top Contributor
616 reviews 616 reviews
169 attraction reviews
Reviews in 226 cities Reviews in 226 cities
355 helpful votes 355 helpful votes
“Good Jazz. Food so-so.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

Difficult to find good jazz and good food in NYC. This one has the first but the food is very average and not particularly good value. Choose your evenings carefully as jazz can vary considerably in style from ultra modern to more traditional. Packed, not a lot of space; red velvet in abundance... Some evenings/days/events there is a $30 cover charge; sometimes there's a meal included. - Depends on the above. Nice venue and entertaining if not expensive, night out.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Two free desserts for moving a table three feet over.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2011

I wanted to experience some jazz in my first trip to New York. We were in the neighbourhood and had heard about good jazz at Smoke.

I got a bit more jazz than I bargained for when our party of four got a table right next to the stage. When I say it was close, I mean the music stand was overlapping our table. A sense of foreboding came over me when I saw five musicians with trumpets go onstage, then some clarinets, saxaphones, trumpets....Sixteen people and a baby grand later, their regular Monday big band was set to play.

One broken ear drum later, one of the musicians/owners asked us if they could move our table further away from the stage. We had no problem whatsoever with that--hello!? The owner(?) thanked us for our trouble by telling the waitress to give us some desserts gratis. A very nice gesture which finished the evening off on a more positive note.

What I don't understand is why they didn't seat us at the two empty tables that were available when we arrived--far from the stage--in the first place?

Visited April 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, West Yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Awsome, intimate atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2010

Amazing atmosphere, Fabulous food.

I absolutely loved it at Smoke, Friendly staff and really great food. Proper (small) slice of the New York Jazz scene.

Its a cozy little place, and not the cheapest in town, but the overall experience, and great food make up for any money quibbles.

We stayed on 7th Avenue By Madison Square gardens, and found a taxi to be a quick, and relitively in expensive way of getting there. Its Definately not walkable!

The music was amazing too, we were lucky enought to get to a big band night, and our table was almost on the stage, really awsome start to our New York Adventure.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smoke also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Smoke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smoke, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.