We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They know their stuff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Morrell Wine Bar & Cafe

Morrell Wine Bar & Cafe
1 Rockefeller Plaza, New York City, NY (Manhattan)
212-262-7700
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 783 Nightlife in New York City
Type: Bar/ Clubs, Bars
Attraction details
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“They know their stuff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Stopped here with a friend who is well versed in wine selection. Our waiter impressed her with his knowledge. Enjoyed a selection of Pinots. The small plates are also good. We had only the olives and cheese but neighboring tables (the tables are very close) had tacos and crostini which looked delicious.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    10
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kirkwall, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

What a fantastic wine bar. We spent a short while here sampling the delights of this fantastic wine bar after visiting 'Top of the Rock'. We expected that given the location it would be very expensive, but we were mistaken. They have a 'happy hour' type promotion from 3pm-5pm. $6 for a ice cold glass of Prosecco. The Argentinian Malbec was also excellent.

The small plates looked fantastic and the service was excellent. Very well mannered and attentive. Will definately be back!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great wine and small plates”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

This place is convenient to 5th Ave shoppers (me) and cozy and friendly. Great wine selection, nice nosh. Often I find other out of towners who love NYC and are visiting and we compare notes. I am an ex-New Yorker, I love wine, and I dig the winter sales at Saks Fifth Avenue. After shopping (and guilt) I appease my guilt with a few glasses of vino, a little nosh and a love letter to NYC via Rockefeller Center. You will not be disappointed. Plus, you can buy the wine in the adjacent wine store. Thanks Morrell!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“What a great way to Spend a summer afternoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

THis is a small quaint spot, with good food and fine wine.
Nothing like sitting in the outdoor cafe in the shade on a summer afternoon, enjoying a great bottle of wine and a fruit and cheese plater. The people watching in Rockerfeller Plaza is an added benefit.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great wine selection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

What a selection of wines and the waiters knowledge was exceptional. I had a couple of cheeky glasses one afternoon. It's a must.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Morrell Wine Bar & Cafe also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Morrell Wine Bar & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morrell Wine Bar & Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.