We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maybe the best club remaining in the East Village” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mercury Lounge

Mercury Lounge
217 E. Houston St, New York City, NY (Lower East Side)
212-260-4700
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #76 of 785 Nightlife in New York City
Type: Bar/ Clubs, Concerts, Clubs
Attraction details
New Hyde Park, New York
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Maybe the best club remaining in the East Village”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

When you see a group, you want to see them in the right place. That's the right size. That has the right sound. The Mercury Lounge is that place. It's probably as long as CBGB's was, but twice as wide. Maybe three times as wide as CB's was pretty narrow. Even better, there's a bar up front with a curtain/door to the stage area so there is some separation. I like that as sometimes you want a little space to back away. And this way folks who want to talk with their friends can do so at the bar, not in the band area. I wish that was the case the night I went as a bunch of bar hoppers was yapping away while a solo singer with a guitar was playing. He mentioned that he could play softer if he was getting in the way of their conversation so they got the message a little. Makes you long for the days of the old hardcore shows when folks like that would have been handled more appropriately!?!?

Good size. Good location. Good bands. Reasonable drink prices. The East Village used to have lots of places like this, the Mercury Lounge is maybe the last holdout. God Bless 'Em!! If there's somebody you like - go see 'em. If you're looking to try something new, give it a go.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    6
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
62 attraction reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Intimate venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We recently enjoyed seeing Truth & Salvage at this intimate venue. Acoustics are very good. There was a promotion going on and we got a few free drinks and a T-shirt. Cover was $12.00 pp, which is reasonable for NYC. Standing room with a few seats on the side. Easily accessed from the subway. Will be back.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Babylon, New York
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Super Cool”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Went here recently to listen to Gus & Scout. Loved the music, the venue was an awesome size (small, cozy, totally comfortable), the sound was good, and the drinks were fairly priced. I'd definitely come back!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Julian's, Malta
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Unforgettable live performances in NYC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

We'd been here to see a number of shows in NY. Needless to say, it's an extremely popular nightspot with all sorts of locals and foreigners into real music. Anyone who is anyone in the artistic sense has played and performed here, from Amy Winehouse, Ani Di Franco and LCD Sound System, to Wire and Bardo Pond, whom we'd gone to see there. We'd also seen a few excellent Motown performances at Mercury Lounge's sister venue, Bowery Ballroom. Drinks are on the expensive side, and smoking is not permitted indoors. There is also a bar on the ground floor, where visitors can hang out after the show, however it didn't seem to me that the crowd down there cared for talking music, it's just an excuse to drink more.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great live venue for intimate gigs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012 via mobile

Reasonably priced tickets, great sound. Small venue lets you be right up close to the band. The place had a good buzz, will definately go again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mercury Lounge also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Mercury Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercury Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.