We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great show but very uncomfortable venue” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Joe's Pub

Joe's Pub
425 Lafayette St, at the Joseph Papp Public Theater, New York City, NY (Manhattan)
212-539-8777
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #48 of 774 nightlife in New York City
Type: Bar/ Clubs, Dance Club/ Discos, Concerts
Attraction Details
Milford, ct
Top Contributor
244 reviews 244 reviews
85 attraction reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Great show but very uncomfortable venue”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

We went to see Diane Birch in concert. She is amazing. We had never been to Joe's before. We got the tickets well in advance and where seated not where I remember having bought tickets. The table was very small and 6 people where seated at it three facing the wrong way. Sodas where $6.00 each and since there was a $12 minimum I ordered the deviled eggs. They should mention what is in them on the menu. They had celery and carrots chopped up in them and you got three halfs for $10 which would have been ok if they tasted good. The main problem is they should not put a table that close to the kitchen. All during the concert waiters where going in and out of the door right in front of us and blocking our view of the show. I had to move my legs for them to go by. Very upsetting and the chairs where so uncomfortable.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    16
    3
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A great music/pub venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

A great non-tourist music venue. $12 food minimum for tables near the stage when there is live music. The night we went there was a great group called "Brooklyn Rundfunk Orkestra" They were great! They their own version of pieces from Handel's Messiah that were definitely not your grandmothers musc. It was bright upbeat, modern and the singers were great! Food is upscale pub fare. Italian ,pastas, panninis, everyone enjoyed their food 6 in our group. Great beer selection No cover charge only a charge for tickets to see artists. No reservations required Near the East Village can get there by subway

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
73 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Went to see Pam Ann”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

we went to see Pam Ann at Joes Pub in NYC and had a great night, This is a great way to spend an evening in NYC and shows you what NY has to offer at night, Check out there website for upcoming events, This place has a very intimate setting with a bar at the back and tables and chairs around the stage, We did book for a table before we left the UK which you have to purchase a meal if seated for certain performances,We was seated right by the stage though my partner was not happy so we asked if we could be moved to another table which wasnt even a problem as it was a sell out, The prices are quite expensive though i think a bottle of beer was $7-8 each and a sandwich with chips was around $18, though it was a great night and we had loads of fun.

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethany Beach, Delaware
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Sensational singer/venue at Joe's Pub in NYC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

I was privileged to see the show of the amazingly talented jazz/pop singer, Julian Fleisher, who appeared, along with his Really Big Band, at Joe's Pub (a supper club connected to Joseph Papp's Public Theater in Greenwich Village) and knocked 'em dead! Worth the trip!!

Visited March 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“staff need some customer service training”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

We went to see Michelle Shocked here and she was great really enjoyed the show very intimate venue. However, despite us booking our tickets months ago and trying to book a table by email we were not given a table and saw others being seated before us (who had not booked) despite us arriving an hour early for the show. We were told that they don't open emails and only take telephone bookings but as we were travelling from the uk this wasn't possible for us. However the attitude of the staff was brusque and unwelcoming and I felt that we were being left til last because I complained. Some customer service training required for the front of house staff.

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe's Pub also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Joe's Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Joe's Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Joe's Pub to your Saves list