We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terminal 5 NYC” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Terminal 5

Terminal 5
610 W. 56th St, New York City, NY 10019 (Formerly Exit) (Manhattan)
212-582-6600
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #505 of 810 Activities in New York City
Type: Bar/ Clubs, Dance Club/ Discos, Performances
Attraction details
Eatontown, New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Terminal 5 NYC”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Took a group of teenage girls to see a show last night. Great venue - crowded not packed. Staff and security were amazing especially making sure underaged drinkers and their suppliers were booted from the club. Place was extremely clean and orderly. Kids were told doors open at 7 and they were precise. Parking was nearby and if you go one block away to the BMW building, their parking garage offers a discount for patrons with a ticket as proof. Would go back in a minute! Thanks for letting the parents into the show instead of making us wait outside! Very classy!!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    15
    9
    1
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Terminal 5 has great acoustics, multiple bars, and three levels so you can get a good view even if it's packed.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanfordville, New York
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Handicap Accessibility”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Despite the band that was playing it was necessary that the venue be handicap accessible. As Terminal 5 is advertised to be. We were told to be there 15 minutes before the show and that we would be taken in early. This did not happen. It was only a few minutes before the rest of the general admission was allowed in. In fact the general admission was running past the gentleman in the wheelchair that I was accompanying (Unsafe!) as we were being escorted across the large room to an area behind some ropes approximately 5x20. There were 4 standard chairs there and we were told to keep moving down. The gentleman I was accompanying in his power wheelchair was parked in front of a double door fire exit. I was gruffly told that "the chairs that were there were not for me, that this area is not for you people it is for them".?????Not sure, but other than the fact I would not have been with my friend, it would have been my pleasure to have gone out on the other side of the ropes as compared to where they had us. Eventually another girl and friend came in a wheelchair and was parked on the other side of the gentleman I was with and now the double fire exit doors are completely blocked. 2 more people came with crutches and one person with a cane. All those who were accompanying these people were surprised that there were not safer accomodations. Following this, 3/4 of the concert was spent asking a gentleman who was not handicap but was in this roped off area, who felt the need to keep standing in front of the two people who were in power wheelchairs to get pictures and video on his phone. He was asked 5 separate times to please be considerate by us, eventually the security guard who was standing there the whole time watching this and doing nothing was asked to say something. He did, but there was no follow up as the man came back and remained there for the rest of the concert. The level of ignorance by the staff at Terminal 5 with consideration of the disabled and their caregivers was very disappointing. The venue may be physically accessible but be prepared for poor treatment and unsafe accomodations.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Get there early, get a good spot”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Yes you have to line up early to get a good spot. If you are a huge fan of the band you are seeing then it's completely worth it. When they first let you in the building they bring you all the way upstairs to wait some more. That's not so bad as there are bathrooms and a bar up there - not something you get at every venue. I only had water which was around $4 for a very small bottle so I imagine real drinks are quite pricey. You then go back downstairs to the venue itself and if you had gotten there early you can usually get a spot in front as long as no one behind you manages to get in front of you. Eat somewhere before you get in line as there is not a whole lot to do in this area and it is quite the walk from a subway station.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Eh”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

I wouldn't go back. You have to get there way early and stand in your spot the entire time if you want to make sure you can see the act otherwise if you're short forget it. The drinks are over priced, even for NYC ($12 for a Redbull/Vodka). Parking is hard to find so plan on spending $35 to park in the garage or try and park far away maybe... Overall I'd go somewhere else in the city to see a show over this place.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Terminal 5 also viewed

 

Been to Terminal 5? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Terminal 5, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.