We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a fan” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Culture Club

Culture Club
20 West 39th Street, New York City, NY 10018 (Midtown)
(212) 921-1999
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #826 of 1,632 things to do in New York City
Attraction details
Setauket, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Not a fan”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Attended with some friends during a birthday celebration. 3 floors???? Only 1 open. Cover charge, for what? I did not even see a DJ but I did hear music. Drinks expensive and small. Bathrooms OMG horrendous, they were unisex and I walked in one and it had no toilet seat. Hold it in ladies. Apparently they only play 80's music and some of it I never heard of. Several single lone guys on dance floor bumping and grinding random people. Crowd mostly 20-35 year olds. Go somewhere else.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    2
    7
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bayside, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“rare place!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

for the price; they should update the decor. so loud, so dark! I went to celebrate my b'day with a group of friends. we place our jackets ( at times it got cold and then hot); we were asked to remove them from the seating area in a very nasty way by a mean looking bouncer. We complained to the Manager who said he will take care of it?. the coat check area was on the 2nd fl. who wants to go upstairs to ck your coat (and they were not even coats). The music was ok but not the best of the 80's or 90's.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, New Jersey
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“not sure how to describe this place”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We went here after a male review that was in the basement. The music was loud and the drinks are expensive. There is no place to get away from the loud music to talk to anyone you are trying to get to know. Know who you are going with cause you wont be able to talk until you are done. the fog machine was un-needed too. I love dancing in clubs but with everything compounded this just was not a fun time.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bermuda
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“If you are looking for a fun time dancing to 80's music, keep looking...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

On a recent trip to New York, my husband and I thought it would be fun to go dancing. Instead of going to a swanky techno music club, we wanted to go somewhere we knew all the music and could just have fun.

The design looks like some not very clever junior high school kids were given free reign - lots of day glo pac men. In the 1.5 hours we were there, most of the music wasn't 80's and when it was it was so badly re-mixed the song was barely recognizable. We paid a $25/per person cover charge. The drinks were horribly over-priced and it seemed like the Club catered to the Jersey Shore crowd. On a Friday night there was only one other floor that we found open and nobody was there.

Culture Club is a huge disappointment.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fun, fun, fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

We "liked" the club on Facebook prior to our visit and received "front of the line" privileges. Great music, fun crowd, great decor (murals and paintings). The negatives are the overpriced drinks ($15 for a cocktail, $5 for a bottle of water), and horrible bathrooms with doors that don't lock. I had a blast dancing to the 80's and the overall crowd was very into it. The dance floor was packed all night!!!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Culture Club also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Culture Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Culture Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.