We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed for two shows” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carnegie Club

Carnegie Club
156 W. 56th St, New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)
212-957-9676
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 784 Nightlife in New York City
Type: Bar/ Clubs, Clubs
Attraction details
Colonia, New Jersey, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Stayed for two shows”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

We wanted some sinatra and sinatra we got!! Intimiate setting, great service.. pricey drinks and cigars... If you have your own cigars bring them.. It may be a $10 cutting fee but money saved nonetheless! Originally reserved the 830 show, decent seats on the stairs but somewhat awkward as the pillars were in the wAy, actually the layout of the establishment overall is awkward as it has a lounge feel so not everyone will get full viewing of the show, but they do have tv video throughout taping the live show but the singer was really good at engaging the entire audience... The entertainment was so great we stayed for both shows and closed the place... If you like sinatra and cigars, a must see!!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    13
    3
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Opulent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

If you like a warm atmosphere, jazz music, great cigars, succulent ports, cozy seating & real New Yorkers, as well as new people, this is your spot! The attentiveness of the staff is on point, the appetizers coordinate perfectly with the wine list and top shelf spirits that there's no better place to end your evening. It's refined, private and easy....
Enjoy.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very vice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

My husband has been going here for years when he comes into the city. I finally made it here with him. What an amazing experience! We came in a couple of times during the week; once when it first opened in the day in casual dress then once in the evening in more formal wear. Both times we enjoyed the comfort & ambience of our surroundings. If you love cigar bars its a must to experience! I can't even imagine why someone would go in & not enjoy smoking or being around cigars, that would be a waste of time in complaints. Honorable mention would be a bartender by the name of Abraham! He was absolutely awesome, very attentive & enjoyed conversation! He was very knowledgeable in all questions we directed to him. We most definitely will be returning!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Absolutely the best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

This has become my home away from home when I am in the city. The staff is always gracious and helpful and the bartender mixes a near-perfect Manhattan. The cigar selection is above average and the prices are not outrageous. Prepare for a $10 cutting fee if you choose to bring your own. If I had to complain, it would be that the coat check area is not really sealed off from the rest of the club so you cannot guarantee that your coat won't have a whiff of smoke scent to it when you leave. But this is just picking nits on an otherwise fine establishment.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“My kind of club!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Sinatra, comfortable seating, cigars and good drinks? Sign me up! This is a great club if you love these things. If you don't like cigar smoke do not come here. I felt like I was in 1930's New York. I felt as if Fiorello LaGuardia was about to walk in. The service was great. The Sinatra singer was spot on, not only the singing voice but he also sounded like Frank when he spoke. The orchestra was fantastic playing, "Sing Sing Sing" before the singer came out. We ordered a cheese plate that was huge with several cheeses and crackers and grapes in the middle. Two of us couldn't finish it. The only downside to this place is prepare to bring your wallet, its not cheap with a 30-40 cover. Call ahead for reservations.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carnegie Club also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Carnegie Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carnegie Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.