We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tony's Di Napoli - Midtown

Tony's Di Napoli - Midtown
147 W 43rd St, New York City, NY 10036 (Midtown)
212-221-0100
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Tony's Di Napoli - Midtown is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #53 of 11,181 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Dessert, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: Broadway
Transit: 1,2,3,N,R,W,Q,D,S subway trains to Times Square
Description: Tony's has served up some of the best old NY Italian favorites. Our cooking comes from Southern Neapolitan traditions and served up in huge family style platters that serve 2 to 3 people.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Awesome ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

An incredible atmosphere, bustling, noisy but in an exciting way. The food was incredible and it really is as they say that the portion sizes are enough for 2 to 3. I would love to go back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,639 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,529
    822
    205
    56
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Hope, PA
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Great family style Italian meals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Did not expect the food to be as great as it was...place is in Time Square (tourist trap) and it was solidly packed. We were on the lower level which we renamed the Birthday Basement every other table was celebrating a birthday as was our party of 8. It was for my niece's 16th birthday and the food was flawless - Lobster Ravioli, Chicken w/Escarole , Rigatoni with Meatballs (even the meatballs were good and I never like them in a restaurant). The only snag and it was a rather large one is they forgot to put aside a chocolate truffle cake for the birthday girl and they ran out....that was a bummer but stuff happens. They fell over themselves to make it right s not holding it against them. Pleasant surprise despite the dessert setback, highly recommend.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Italian well done!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

This was the ideal New York treatment! Amazing Italian food at an affordable price. This place is perfect for big groups because the shared portions are enormous. I ordered the Fettuccine Alfredo, the chicken Parmigiana and meatballs for a group of 5 and it was more than enough. The chicken Parm was very cheesy and well breaded. I was very satisfied with the food and service. Tony di Napoli brings their A game and you won't be disappointed, your taste buds will thank you.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stony Brook, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Quality food, efficient and professional service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Who would have "thunk" it? High quality food, served in a efficient and professional manner. The staff are warm, humorous and friendly. The sauce is among the best - even my Italian son-in-law would be blown away. All of this in the highly visited tourist area of Times Square, NY. A place where tourists have to vie for a table with the locals.

A word of caution - visit when hungry as the servings are plentiful and you tend consume everything - from the tasteful Tuscan bread, to assorted appetizers and to the varied main dishes.

It is a precious gem in an area of faux eateries and don't miss the authentic New York cheesecake.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belton, Texas, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Italian food convenient to theaters”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

We had a terrific dinner at Tony's before heading off to a Broadway show. The bread is amazing with plenty of soft, salty butter. We got the zucchini fritti as an appetizer and it was excellent--almost like zucchini chips with lots of parmesan cheese on top. One thing to keep in mind is that everything is served family style: big platters which are shared at the table. The waitress recommended two entree platters for us (a table of four) and when they came out they were HUGE. One platter would have been plenty. Our platter of eggplant parmesan had six servings! So when you go, order accordingly. The food is very good and the service is quick and the atmosphere and location are top notch. Highly recommended.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tony's Di Napoli - Midtown also viewed

 

Been to Tony's Di Napoli - Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tony's Di Napoli - Midtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.