We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tony's Di Napoli - Midtown

Tony's Di Napoli - Midtown
147 W 43rd St, New York City, NY 10036 (Midtown)
212-221-0100
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Tony's Di Napoli - Midtown is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #67 of 12,022 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Dessert, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: Broadway
Transit: 1,2,3,N,R,W,Q,D,S subway trains to Times Square
Description: Tony's has served up some of the best old NY Italian favorites. Our cooking comes from Southern Neapolitan traditions and served up in huge family style platters that serve 2 to 3 people.
Staten Island, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

They serve family style some of the best food in NYC. The portions are huge, the prices reasonable and the food is delicious. We have found all the servers to be excellent. They are interested in your orders, serve promptly and in the manner we like (we don't like to be rushed). Even the desserts are great - and we always save room for one.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,627 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,520
    820
    204
    56
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Unexpected Gem in NYC”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

My 17 year old daughter suggested this restaurant during our stay in
NYC. We arrived without a reservation and was quickly accommodated to a lovely table - white linen, silver crockery and gleaming glassware - we are a family of four and were more than satisfied with one helping .. there was one little discrepancy during the evening that was quickly and efficiently dealt with by staff and management which is why I haven't let it ruin the experience - Good food and service, great atmosphere - worth a visit!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trumbull, Connecticut
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great meal, so close to time square”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

My family of 9 enjoyed a great meal at on Sunday. We had made a reservation the day before and arrived right on time. They were ready for us and took us to a nice table downstairs. We liked the square table setup (as opposed to long rectangle) which made for easier sharing. There was a large working staff who made sure we had everything we needed and quickly. Bread (excellent crusty) arrived right away with tap water. We ordered two excellent salads (one house, one caesar) which were prepared right at our table and filled with fresh ingredients. Lunch was made up of two pasta dishes (vodka) and three chickens. The food arrived in a reasonable time and was delicious. Proportions were generous and we were all satisfied. The staff was continually checking on our needs, refilling water glasses, and taking away dirty dishes. Finally, the final price was very reasonable. My group was very happy with their fine lunch. I was impressed I could get such a good meal and at a good price so close to time square.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westborough, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Great Italian Meal -Reasonable Pricing- Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

If you are looking for very good Italian Food, large portions, on a budget and reasonable pricing is important, I highly recommend, Tony Di Napoli in mid-town. Wow!! Family Style at its very best. Some might compare to a Buca Di Beppo, or a Carmines. Same idea/ concept in fact. One Salad will feed 3-4pax. Most entrée dishes are good for 2-3pax. Great service. Knowledgeable waiters, great ambiance. It was a fun and enjoyable evening out, not to mention we were stuffed.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hullbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Make sure you're hungry”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Great place to eat, pasta was delicious and the fried courgettes were to die for. Please make sure you haven't eaten for a while though as the portions are VERY generous

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tony's Di Napoli - Midtown also viewed

 

Been to Tony's Di Napoli - Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tony's Di Napoli - Midtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.