We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hit the spot!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tony's Di Napoli - Midtown

Tony's Di Napoli - Midtown
147 W 43rd St, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)
212-221-0100
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Tony's Di Napoli - Midtown is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #60 of 11,599 restaurants in New York City
Price range: $0 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Cross street: Broadway
Transit: 1,2,3,N,R,W,Q,D,S subway trains to Times Square
Description: Tony's has served up some of the best old NY Italian favorites. Our cooking comes from Southern Neapolitan traditions and served up in huge family style platters that serve 2 to 3 people.
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Hit the spot!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

On our last night in NYC, we decided to look on TA for a place to eat on the way to Times Square from our hotel. We found Tony's and thought it sounded perfect. We called and made a reservation and then walked down. We were seated promptly. We decided to keep it simple with spaghetti and meatballs figuring if you can't do that right, you shouldn't be an Italian restaurant. The platter came out and it was HUGE! The food was excellent and the loud, boisterous, friendly atmosphere was just what we needed after being by ourselves in the city for a week. We had a great time, the food was good. We'd definitely come back!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,943 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    1,121
    603
    157
    40
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Tony's to the rescue!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Fantastic food, people and hospitality!

Last year we had a school trip to NYC; we arrived October 2013 just has hurricane Sandy landed. We struggled to find anywhere that could accommodate such a large party, but Tony's came to the rescue!

They opened a private room for us and designed a menu appropriate and affordable all of our students. The food was amazing and the service was fantastic, thanks to Bruce and Val! We have booked again for our next trip. It was the highlight of our trip and couldn't recommend it more highly. Great memories, thank you Tony's!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food, lousy acoustics”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Great food, priced as you would expect in Manhattan.
service was great, specials were good, wine was excellent,
But you couldn't hear the person across the table unless you were screaming.
Of course, we went just before a broadway play so it was crowded.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The best food ever”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

My friend and I were there on business and stumbled upon this restaurant. The food was absolutely amazing. We had the shrimp Fra Diavolo. Normally reservations are recommended however, we lucked out and were seated immediately. The place is a bit noisy. Waiter was awesome. Two regulars were sitting at a table next to us and were very friendly as well. Deserts seem a bit pricy until they get to the table and you realize they are big enough to feed at least three people. Will definitely go back next time I am in NYC.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

I was very impressed by the dining experience at Tony's. I was seated immediately and looked after very well through out the meal. The service was attentive but not intrusive and the atmosphere was lively but good. Everyone was talking and mingling but you could still here your own conversations.

The food was very nice and well cooked. I did see what looked like the manager walking around to talk to regulars which was nice. It is not expensive at Tony's and great for larger parties to dine. I would recommend to anyone while in NY as for the price, food and atmosphere it deserves a higher ranking on trip advisor.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tony's Di Napoli - Midtown also viewed

 

Been to Tony's Di Napoli - Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tony's Di Napoli - Midtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.