We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over priced bar - why do you come?” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Slate

Slate
54 W 21st St, New York City, NY 10010
212-989-0096
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Slate is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5,451 of 11,776 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Mediterranean, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 5th and 6th Avenue
Transit: Trains: F,V to 23rd St and 6th Ave N,R,W to 23rd Street & B'way 1 to 23rd and 7th 6 to 23rd and Park
Description: One of New York’s only venues with private and semi-private reception spaces, Slate offers sleek decor, sumptuous modern American cuisine, state-of-the-art audiovisual capabilities, a variety of games, a spacious dance floor and banquet seating.Slate offers private function rooms and spaces to accommodate every size private party. Whether the intimate group, or the raucous blowout bash, our venue is customizable. Boasting 16,000 square feet of space spread over two floors that can be outfitted in a myriad of ways to fit your function needs, we provide accommodations for up to 1,200 guests.The premier New York City venue where every event gets the red carpet treatment and unparalleled attention to detail. Birthday Parties, Bar Mitzvahs, Bachelor Parties, Corporate & VIP Events, Fundraisers.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Over priced bar - why do you come?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Slate is used as a party venue for 20s-30s. But drinks are nothing great - just expensive and not good. You can find much better bars - with better deco.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    10
    5
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Nice evening”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

I attended a work-related private holiday party here, so it wasn't a typical night out. With the exception of the guy at coat check, the staff was friendly. Drinks were good and the hors d'oeuvres were good and plentiful. Nice space for our group. Don't know what it would be like on an open-to-the-public night. It's not really my type of place so I probably wouldn't go back on my own but it was perfect for the party I attended.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great but Expensive (welcome to NYC!)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

Me and a friend visited New york recently and decided instead of hitting the club circuit we'd try out the sports bars and such. We went to Slate because Bounce across the street was way too crowded. Slate has a very industrial look to it but great big comfy chairs and lots of TV's...not to mention the pool tables and the ping pong tables..it's a great place to hang out. We ordered alot of food and drinks for the 5 people that ended up showing up to hang out with us and in total our bill was $350. a little steep compared to DC. But, we were'nt surprised we actually thought it would be more. The service was decent. The bartender was back and forth between our table and the bar so there were times when we needed him but couldn't find him and other times when he'd actually sit down and hang out with us for a spell. The only thing that wasn't appealing about this place is the couple sitting to the right of us that made-out with one another for FOUR HOURS in full-view of everyone in the place. They should've been asked to leave it was highly inappropriate. All in all NOT BAD.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Obnoxious Bouncers sets the tone of a Overhyped spot”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2011

I was met by aggressive bouncers who get a bizarre satisfaction of treating you as if they're allowing you to have a 5 minute sitting with the Pope. Truly horrendous service for a place that's just not worth the aggravation.

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Spacious but dull night spot”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011 via mobile

Slate misses in many ways but makes up for it in space. Upstairs is a bit cheesy with a light up bar and overzealous doormen who ask if you have a reservation when the inside is at 20% capacity. Downstairs has pool tables, foosball, a plenty of comfortable couches for hanging out and taking a break. No dance floor or memorable DJing. Overall okay for a large group when there are few other options but not a place I would go to again.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Slate also viewed

 

Been to Slate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Slate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.