We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Swagat Indian Cuisine

Swagat Indian Cuisine
411A Amsterdam Avenue, New York City, NY 10104 (Manhattan)
(212) 362-1400
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Swagat Indian Cuisine is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3,966 of 11,750 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $29 - $31
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Cross street: 79th and 80th
Description: Swagat is a unique Indian Restaurant in Upper West Side. The food is excellent and the ambience is great too. The restaurant is owned by Chef Lala Sharma. He is from the hotel industry in Delhi Bukhara. He has worked in Bahamas, Maurya Sheraton. He brings forth the best in Indian culinary tradition, the rich, intricate dishes that he prepares, combining his flair for improvisation and his knowledge of health and nutrition.
1 review
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

Great service and curries. The naan bread was oustanding. We shared 3 curries and two naan between four of us and it was plenty. $75 including two beers and tip.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    15
    6
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Delicious Indian food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Swagat offered delicious Indian food made with super fresh ingredients and a more sophisticated choice of spices than I've typically encountered with Indian food. One of the best Indian food experiences I've had.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Excellent little find for great Indian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

The restaurant is very small for dining in and the take-out takes longer than expected to be ready (clearly truly made from scratch upon order) but the staff is friendly and the food fantastic.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“great tasting food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

got take-out while staying in NY on vacation over Christmas. very easy to order from looking at the website. girl on phone was helpful. food was delicious. would certainly go again.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Nomnomnomnom”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I'm British and have lived in Canada for three years. I haven't had a decent Indian meal since I arrived until I took a trip to Swagat. A relatively small restaurant; long and narrow and surrounded by other restaurants it can be easy to miss. Don't.
The service was great - nice friendly staff. The food was deeeeelicious. To be fair, my husband said his lamb dish was 'OK' but my chicken dish was outstanding (Chicken Nilgiri). And the bread - oh my god, I had died and gone to heaven. Peshwari Nan like I haven't tasted before.
In fact it was so nice, we went back again the following night with friends who also loved it. One friend had Vindaloo which was, as you'd expect, very hot. he also said he hadn't had one that tasty in the States for years. On the down side, and I'm nitpicking here - don't sit on very back table where menus and music system are - you are continually leaning forward so they can get a menu or fiddle with the music. Price? Very reasonable. Wine? OK - overpriced but no more than other restaurants. In fact, if it was a BYO it would be the perfect Indian restaurant.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Swagat Indian Cuisine also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Swagat Indian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swagat Indian Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.