We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No way, too much money for mediocrity.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Lindy's

Lindy's
825 7th Avenue, New York City, NY 10019-6014 (Midtown)
212-767-8343 / 4
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7,459 of 11,186 Restaurants in New York City
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dessert, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Midtown
Roanoke, Virginia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“No way, too much money for mediocrity.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I don't know if this place is a tourist destination or not. . . i.e. Tourist Trap. I was staying across the street and saw this cute little diner and thought it would be a good alternative for breakfast. I couldn't believe the prices for the food. Shouldn't no nonsense breakfast food be basically the cheapest food on the planet? There is nothing special about this place other than the quaint exterior and furnishings. That doesn't justify the prices for very basic eggs and bacon. Sorry Lindy's. For a really great breakfast in the area, consider the French Bistro across the street, Maison.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    111
    203
    171
    215
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Good place for breakfast but pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We had good breakfast there.
Good typical american restaurant. Do not expect fine food...
However, breakfast menus costs around 21-23USD + tax + service.. This is not cheap for eggs, bread/toasts and coffee and orange juice.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cowes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Not as good as previous visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I have to say it was dead quiet when we went, early afternoon for a late lunch, it is a bit pricey but for what you get you I would say fair enough - we could have shared a meal! I had tuna melt open sandwich which was ginormous! No room for the cheesecake which is what we wanted to actually try...should have skipped the meal!? and gone straight for dessert maybe!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Hearty Meal without Heart”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I grabbed a pre-matinee lunch at Lindy's Deli yesterday, hoping to get classic deli food. The service was friendly, the decor was sort of Broadway deli style and clean, but a chicken salad sandwich and a coke cost $26 with tip. If you want to go there, split the sandwich and you will get a good deal for basic food.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, WA
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“very rude waitress and very expensive!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We decided to go to Lindy's because our family had been before (2 years ago) and recommended it. We were not greeted when we came in and then left awkwardly while the made us a table for 5 people.

We were initially shocked looking at the prices,but pleased when we asked about specials and we were shown some for $22 (plus tax) including a soup, entree and a cheesecake and drink. We ordered 4 specials and a soup.

The waitress had to be asked numerous times about our drinks and messed them up twice. She was stand offish and seemed a bit confused about what we wanted.

The soup was really nice as were the entrees. We also ordered hot drinks. $7 for a small cappuccino is ridiculous!!!! The hot chocolates were $5 and very nice but also over priced.

The cheesecake took about 4 attempts at explaining to get what we wanted. We wanted 4 specials and then to pay for one more. *not that difficult right!

When presented with our bill $135 we were asked if we wanted the tip on or not. We said no intending to tip on the table. She wasn't very happy but obliged. As we were getting ready to go she asked about why we didn't want the tip added on (20%) and if there was a problem and we said no we wanted to do it separately, cause we didn't want to make a scene. She took the money off the table and was not happy with the amount. She went and spoke to another person and then came back handed the money back and told us to keep it.

Would not visit again. Go to Ruby Tuesdays instead!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lindy's also viewed

 

Been to Lindy's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lindy's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.