We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, assured, classy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Iroha Japanese Restaurant

Iroha Japanese Restaurant
152 West 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019-6812 (Midtown)
212-398-9049
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3,094 of 12,022 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Midtown
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Quiet, assured, classy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Travelling alone, finding a nice restaurant where you can sit in peace without feeling awkward, loiter yet not have to wait, and combine good food with a great atmosphere, Iroha fitted the bill.

The sushi platters were a joy to see and the prices were reasonable for this part of town.

Fish was really fresh and watching the preparation from the bar was absorbing.

Lighting was dim but atmospheric (ie rather than just dark).

In all, one to remember for future visits.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    43
    11
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Casual dining with good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

Generally speaking a pleasant experience set in a very casual but decent atmosphere, with good food being served.The prices reflect acceptable value for money. The service is good and the staff fairly welcoming.The thing that bothered us most was the fact that they automatically add a 15% tipping charge to the bill.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Maur-des-Fosses, France
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Average food for high price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012 via mobile

Food is just correct and prices are very high. People are nice but one waitress who doesn't listen what we tell to her and smileless. I was directly charged of 15% of tip and I can't accept this behavor. I don't know laws about the obligation of tipping so I say nothing....

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Fair deal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

Small place in theater district, with a sister restaurant next door. Sushi fresh and well done, fair prices, usual brisk we-mean-business NY service. Got an order wrong and remedied immediately and courteously. We love it.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Top Contributor
252 reviews 252 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
384 helpful votes 384 helpful votes
“menu TOTALLY reminds me of restaurants in tokyo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

if you've ever been to tokyo and eaten at a typical run of the mill restaurant, A) it was probably 10x tastier than the average "japanese" restaurant you'll find here in the states, and B) the menu probably looks a lot like the menu at iroha. iroha's menu has pictures of all its dishes. the selection is spectacular, and on it you'll find very authentic dishes at a reasonable price. they have fatty pork!!! perfect slices of tender pork meat with ALL the layers of fat intact. the majority of people probably reeled in disgust. but for those of you that can appreciate the authenticity and deliciousness of walking into a restaurant and seeing this dish, you KNOW why this place instantly gets 5 stars.

we went with two families with a horde of kids and grandparents. VERY kid friendly. we stuffed ourselves silly. yes, they do have all the standard affair of typical japanese restaurants as well--bento boxes, teriyaki, california rolls, etc. none of which i personally tried because i was too busy eating the stuff i hadn't had since my last trip to asia.

best meal we had in NYC. this place is a gem. it's one of those restaurants you wish you had near your home.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Iroha Japanese Restaurant also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Iroha Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iroha Japanese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.