We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Asian food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tang Pavilion

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Tang Pavilion
65 West 55th Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)
212 956 6888
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #891 of 11,776 Restaurants in New York City
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great Asian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Enjoyed the food at Tang's and thought it was standard asian food. Would not go out of the way for the meal but enjoyed either way.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    25
    9
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Shanghai, anyone?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Excellent Chinese food. A very utilitarian, busy atmosphere, but surprisingly hearable conversationally. Good price, good service. Only problem: in a couple hours, I want more efficiency.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, FL USA
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Delicious Soup Dumplings!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Whenever we visit New York, we visit Tang's Pavillion. Food is reliable; white tablecloths with attentive service make the dining experience much nicer than most midtown Chinese restaurants. I even recommended it to a stranger I met at my hotel; he found me the next day to thank me for the wonderful meal he and his wife enjoyed. Whatever I'm in the mood for -- spicy, soothing, crunchy, something new, a favorite dish, etc. Tang's Pavillion never disappoints.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Great food and well staffed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

The Tang Pavilion on 55th Street is a great Chinese Restaurant. The food is excellent, the staff attentive and clearly a favorite of the Chinese speaking community. Each time we go to NYC we make sure to visit at least once or twice -

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good food. Little pricey for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Had lunch with the kids at this restaurant on July 4 our recent trip to NYC. It was a little pricey for lunch because the restaurant was not using their lunch menu - it was July 4! That was fine. The Shanghai Chinese food was excellent! We love the food in NYC.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tang Pavilion also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Tang Pavilion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tang Pavilion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.