We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't forget brunch!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Daddy-O

Daddy-O
44 Bedford Street, New York City, NY 10014-4413 (Manhattan)
(212) 414-8884
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5,236 of 11,777 Restaurants in New York City
Cuisines: Irish
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Agawam, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Don't forget brunch!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

From reading the other reviews I can see that Daddy-o's is known primarily for its drinks & burgers, but I want to recommend their outstanding brunch specials! My 70 year old mom & I happened upon this lovely pub, & were treated to wonderful service & a vast menu midday menu. We opted for the build-your-own breakfast burritos and loved the accompanying sides featuring diced tomatoes, fresh guacamole & roasted potatoes. Everything was very reasonably priced & we were very pleased with this gem! Enjoy!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    7
    0
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Atmosphere, burgers, local, beers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

We were in need for a quick bite and ended up at Daddy-O. Cool place. Fine location in the Village. A hangout for locals with great drinks selection, sports the screens and only few tables. But the real reason to come here is the Daddy-O burger. Great look, well served, generous size and extremely tasty. Wow! Friendly staff, too loud music, cozy atmosphere. Recommended!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada Nicaragua
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Cool Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Great drinks...even though I am a trditional Martini drinker, you need to try the jalepeno martini.

Food is much better than bar food. Great lunch spot

Gets crowded late, but always pleasant.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pottstown, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Best Drinks Ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

After seeing the this place featured on the food network i wanted to check it out. I ordered the herbaceous mojito and it was good, but what really caught my eye was the "yellow fever" martini. It is TO DIE FOR. I've been back several times since, and I always order the Yellow Fever. I brought my friends here today and they fell in love with the drink too. The bar is kinda dark and not very big, but its a laid back place. The service was great. Our waitress recommended we order the "Gordon's Tots" which are their tater tots with a cheese sauce (homemade, not like that orange stuff that comes from a tin can) and finely chopped jalapenos on top. They were excellent! Tasted very much like a jalapeno popper. We also got a very thin crust pizza with caramelized onions on it. The crust is almost like a cracker, but its very tasty. Not regular chewy crust pizza. Great for an appetizer. The drinks are pricey, but I dont mind paying that price every once in awhile. I come here for the yellow fever almost every time I'm visiting the city.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY, NY
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great Local Spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

This is not an Irish restaurant. I'm not even sure if they have food any more. They might have some unique bar food which last time I tried it was very good.

It is, however, a gem of a bar in the West Village. Remarkably it has maintained most of its local charm going on seven years now. On the weekend it can be a bit crowded and noisy but it is not a tourist destination. It's a real live local New York bar with high quality liquor and generous pours. It's not a place for tourists or bridge and tunnel weekenders. People who live and work in the neighborhood go here to drink with friends. No gimmicks. Just an excellent place to have a drink in a very pretty area of New York.

The only drawback I found is that if you are not a regular, you won't be treated particularly well. I hadn't been there in over a year and even though the bartender was the same guy I laughed with and tipped heavily in the past, he didn't recognize me and there didn't give me the time of day. Oh well.

The place is great.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Daddy-O also viewed

 

Been to Daddy-O? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Daddy-O, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.