We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Irish food in a very noisy place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Molly Wee Pub

Molly Wee Pub
402 8th Ave, Frnt 1, New York City, NY 10001-1808 (Chelsea)
212-967-2627
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #582 of 11,597 restaurants in New York City
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night
Neighborhood: Chelsea
Germantown, Tennessee
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great Irish food in a very noisy place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

The staff were very friendly and helpful with some of the menu selections. The food was great but the noise was nearly unbearable. This was easily one of the loudest bar/pubs Ive ever visited. If you want a quite evening or meal, go somewhere else. If you want good food and the desire to talk loud just so you your tablemates can hear you, visit Molly Wee Pub.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    27
    23
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Irish bar with an authentic Irish flair...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Stopped in here for an Irish Coffee on our way out for a long evening. We were promptly and pleasantly greeted by a feisty redheaded Irish server with a delightful brogue. Doesn't get more authentic than that. She made sure our group of 7 had a nice spot all together and served us such Irish classics as Guinness and Jameson all while giving us a running chat in that great accent as she went about her business. Bartender and house staff were professional and efficient and the food, while we didn't eat, looked above par. Soccer is on the TV and hockey memorabilia lines the walls. The open hall atmosphere and great people watching complete the experience. Would drink here again.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Friendly service, good street atmosphere, well executed food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stopped in for lunch on a Thursday, it was a little slow, service was quick and attentive, and the food was surpirisingly good. It was more than I expected from a corner pub. Well done!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ky
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Good Service and Friendly Environment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

My wife and I stopped here while walking the streets of NYC. Beer is very cold and priced at a normal price (not like the tourist traps in Time Square). The lady who seemed to be the manager was on top of everything. Some of the best service we received while visiting NYC. Great job Molly Wee!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“friendly Irish pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

First called into the Molly Wee just by chance in 2002 having gone for a stroll from our hotel, The Ramada New Yorker. The pub was very busy and an old gent sitting at the counter started chatting to us and offered us a drink while we waited on a table. He was the owners Dad who was from Ireland and actually knew people we knew.

We have a lovely meal, lovely chat and were made to feel like we were old friends. A trip to New York would not be the same now without a visit to the Molly Wee. Unfortunately John is no longer around.... early mornings he could always be found sitting at the counter having his boiled eggs having arrived from Long Island.

The pub is in an excellent location, so close to Macy's, Empire State Building and Madison Square garden.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Molly Wee Pub also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Molly Wee Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Molly Wee Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.