We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, below average service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dervish - CLOSED

Dervish
146 West 47th Street, New York City, NY 10036-1502 (Midtown)
(212) 997-0070
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $30 - $40
Cuisines: Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: Between 6th and 7th Avenues
Transit: N & R trains to 49th Street, and B, D, F & Q trains to 47th/50th Street.
New Brunswick, New Jersey
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Good food, below average service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

A Turkish restaurant with excellent authentic food. I was disappointed with the service and the airiness of the waiters, considering this is a higher end restaurant. Waiters are the face of the restaurant and should pay closer attention to their customers - they pretty much determine if the customer will come back or not. Knowing how important service is in Turkey, having 3 different waiters in a pretty empty setting surprised me. This does not mean a good service, on the contrary - it means lack of attention.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    68
    19
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
“Excellent Meal, But Slow It Down, Please!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

This is an excellent mid-town Mediterranean eatery that provided four uniformy delicious dinners. Especially noteworthy was the lamb brochette and the salmon fillet. Service was too rushed and a platter with food was removed while the diner was momentarily away from the table. The resulting complaint was not handled thoughtfully. This is a good example of how service issues can significantly affect the overall quality of the restaurant experience. I would return, but only if I received assurance of a leisurely and well paced mean unless I requested otherwise.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
317 reviews 317 reviews
173 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 120 cities Reviews in 120 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
“We only had drinks at Dervish but nice place and friendly people”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We ended up at Dervish when escaping the crowds on Broadway and after trying to have a drink in two of the Irish pubs in the same street. It wasn't a problem to just have a drink at the bar (the bar was empty I might add...). The restaurant was pretty full. We had nice chats with the lady behind the bar and a gentleman who was probably the owner. So from a just having drinks perspective, an above average experience. We can imagine the service and food being of good quality and the place itself looked nice. As we had planned to eat Thai food, we didn't eat at Dervish but next time we might.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alrington, Virginia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good location; Great service; good food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Dervish is right off Times Square and has a nice pre-theater menu. Unless you want to venture more than block from Times Square, it is a very good bet for its location alone. The service is also very good -- very friendly and accomodating. The foot is pretty typical mediterranean fare, and not too special. But it is good. A decent find for pre-theater.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Best Turkish food I've had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

We stumbled upon this place by accident and what a find! The Turkish food was the best I have had including what I had in Istanbul. The lamb was extremely juicy and delicious. I had the iskander kebab and my husband had the doner. Both were amazing! The service was understated but attentive and the value of the meal was outstanding.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dervish also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dervish, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.