We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delightful experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of King's Carriage House

King's Carriage House
251 E 82nd Street, New York City, NY 10028 (Manhattan)
2127345490
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,360 of 11,599 restaurants in New York City
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: American, Central European, Continental, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Key Largo, FL
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A delightful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I just hosted a bridal shower at Kings' Carriage House. The room we had was charming and perfect for a small party. There were beautiful floral arrangements on each table. It felt as if we were at someone's house. Our first course was a warm brie puff with lingonberry compote. We had 2 choices of entrees, pan-seared salmon and free range chicken and each was delicious. The Belgian truffle cake with ginger creme Anglaise and fresh raspberries was decadent. The service was excellent and I found the prices very fair. The restaurant has rooms upstairs, and serves lunch and dinner in addition to catering to private parties.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    22
    9
    1
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New Providence, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Terrific Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

This was our first visit to this restaurant and it exceeded our expectations. The only thing lacking was a liquor license due to the church 2 doors away but we were quite happy with wine. The staff was attentive but not overboard. We ordered salmon and the striped bass and both were quite good. Corn chowder for an appetizer was outstanding and so were the desserts. A great value for $49 prix fixe in NYC. A definite return trip in our future.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We loved this small cozy place. My daughter and I were celebrating her law school graduation, and we enjoyed the friendly atmosphere. Our server was attentive and friendly, but not bothersome. Great food.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinnelon, New Jersey
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Charming upper east sider with unique prix fixe menu approach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

This was our first visit to this restaurant and we were delighted. It is in a charming colonial style carriage house at 82nd & 3rd ave, a short walk from the subway. We were treated extremely warmly and graciously by the staff, who ushered us up to a beautifully decorated, small, romantic room. We were provided a $49 pp fixe prix menu (3 course) which we were told changes nightly. There were about half a dozen choices for each course, with a nice variety from which most people could find something they liked. We had oyster stew and lobster bisque for apps. NOther choices included some delicious looking scallops. We had rack of lamb and duck breast. Other choices included a fantastic looking lobster pot pie and wild pacific salmon. We had a creme brulee with berries and a blackberry cobbler. There were a few wines by the bottle and by the glass, all reasonably priced. All the food, drink and service were excellent, and atmosphere was really cozy and romantic. A perfect Valentine's Day dinner. Highly recommended!!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
“Great Excuse for Lunch when visiting the Met”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We have been coming here for years on visits to the Met. The staff is always friendly, the meals always quite good, and for upper west side dining the price is quite reasonable.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed King's Carriage House also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to King's Carriage House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage King's Carriage House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.