We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of New Amity Restaurant

New Amity Restaurant
1134 Madison Avenue, New York City, NY 10028-0425 (Manhattan)
212-861-3255
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3,650 of 11,776 Restaurants in New York City
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Diner
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Burnaby, Canada
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“A gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Classic NY neighborhood diner. Gruff, but friendly, helpful staff. Good basic food. Just a few blocks from the Met.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    15
    7
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Top Contributor
220 reviews 220 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Neighborhood Coffee Shop”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012 via mobile

Stick to the basics. Like burgers or salads. Musaka and pasta could be better. Waiters very friendly.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great place to eat, lovely atmosphere, nice food, good service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

We stumbled over this restaurant after a visit to central park. Staff were very attentive. I had a chicken club sandwich with chips and it was the best club sandwich I have ever had. I would recommend this to any of my friends that were planning a visit and if we ever visit New York again, we would definitely make a point of going back.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Very busy, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

The Amity (note: The canopy outside reads "The New Amity.") is a good place to stop before or after a visit to the Metropolitan Museum. It's a block from the museum, on Madison Ave. A Swiss cheese omelet for breakfast was hearty and delicious. The pancakes are good, too. It's also good for dessert and coffee after visiting the Met. If it's especially busy, the waiters will let you know not to sit too long. But I've been there when it wasn't so busy, and was allowed to linger over my coffee and talk as long as I wanted. The prices are reasonable, for New York, and the service is mostly friendly; sometimes a little gruff, but not too gruff.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scranton
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Mediocre is generous”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

a typical diner menu with some Greek options. the gyro meat in my husband's gyro looked like a prefab slab. My spinach pie was mediocre but overheated or stale so tough to cut. service was poor. I had to ask for the check (it's not Europe or Latin America and a diner is usually quick on the draw) and had to wave the check and money to get our waiter's attention. too many other places to eat in New York to bother with this one.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Amity Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to New Amity Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Amity Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.