We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great alternative to a fancy restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maggie's Place

Maggie's Place
21 E 47th St, New York City, NY 10017-1901 (Manhattan)
212-753-5757
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Maggie's Place is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2,035 of 11,751 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Irish, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Home Style
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Cross street: Between 5th Ave & Madison Ave
Transit: We are located near Grand Central Station.
Description: Midtowns oldest Family owned Irish Restaurant Est 1974.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great alternative to a fancy restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

If you are looking for good food, great selection of beers, drinks, and atmosphere, this is the place for you. It is a very fun spot!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    34
    4
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new york
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Dependable and a pretty good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I go here a few times a year and have always had a good experience. The services is quick but they don't rush you. It's upscale pub food and quite good at that. The fish options and daily specials are very good as are the salads. It's nicer than an everyday lunch place but not a budget buster if you're getting together with friends.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
432 reviews 432 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
936 helpful votes 936 helpful votes
“Maggie's Place Is A Good Solid Choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

My son and I were in NYC sightseeing and we popped into Maggie's Place on our last night in town. It was a great find. The service was swift and friendly. The food was good and the upstairs room wasn't crowded. The meny was fair as were the prices. The stew was very good and my son enjoyed the burger. For a fair price we had a good meal.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Haven from the hustle and bustle”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012 via mobile

As a Brit I would normally avoid any kind of pub but couldn't resist 'beer and a burger $10'. Inside was beautifully done out and the atmosphere was great. Best burger of my trip. Not sure where the ten bucks deal came from but it was good value nevertheless. Good range of beers and the inevitable TVs pumping out sport. Ideal if you are solo as tables are in long thin rows. Felt more American than Irish but who cares? Well worth popping in to take the weight off your feet if you are shopping and dropping.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“solid Irish pub with reasonable prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

Solid food, fish and chips and shepards pie a hit, burgers were also tasty. A much better choice than the big chains in NYC and a relaxing environment. Very reasobably priced for this part of town!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maggie's Place also viewed

 

Been to Maggie's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maggie's Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.