We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this little museum!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Museum of Arts and Design

Museum of Arts and Design
2 Columbus Circle, New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)
212.299.7777
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #88 of 633 Attractions in New York City
Type: Art Museums, Specialty Museums, Museums
Useful Information: Lockers / storage, Stairs / elevator
Attraction details
Useful Information: Lockers / storage, Stairs / elevator
Lambertville, New Jersey, United States
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Love this little museum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

This was my second time at this little gem of a museum. I love the size it's very manageable to do inside a couple of hours. They always have interesting exhibits this time I loved the Daniel Brush,and Doris Duke Shangri La exhibits.
Next time I go I will be sure to book a reservation at the restaraunt on the 9th floor with stunning views of Central Park!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    41
    14
    10
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
277 helpful votes 277 helpful votes
“Museum Gem at Columbus Circle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Small museum, beautifully curated. Recently saw selections from Doris Duke's collection of Islamic art, stunning art glass, jewelry, and a great museum store.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Super location, exhibits need beefed up”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Went to the Art of Scent and Doris Duke Islamic Art collection.
Museum is in a great location. Building is very nice.
The Duke exhibit was really small. It needed far more in terms of exhibits.
The Art of Scent was very interesting.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Always Surprising”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

You never know what you'll find at MAD. I'm a real crafts fan, and go there a few times a year. The curators are so open-minded, the exhibits often feature truly innovative themes or materials. I don't necessarily love all the shows, but with 4 floors of galleries, you're sure to find something you'll enjoy if the interface or art, design and craft appeals to you.
Of the current shows, I loved the contemporary glass exhibit. I admired the very unusual "The Art of Scent," which is the first major museum exhibit of "olfactory art." It's very clever, allowing viewers to inhale at each display and learn the history of how that particular perfume scent was created. A lot of visitors seemed to be inhaling and enjoying, but I soon realized it wasn't really my kind of show.
On the 3rd floor stair landing, I was dazzled by the collection of 50 large goblets, most of them very rare, unique and beautiful. If you're aesthetically adventurous and curious, MAD is open late on Thursday and Friday nights, and I'm always glad I stopped in.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 attraction reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Poor”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

On the good side: -
Great building
Great location
Great store
However:-
We were all very disappointed with the exhibitions Nothing that I think good enough to be in this museum.

So ... I would say if you are in NY for a limited time check out the exhibitions before you go

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of Arts and Design also viewed

 

Been to Museum of Arts and Design? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museum of Arts and Design, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.