We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pissy little faux french brat maitre d'” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Madison Bistro

Madison Bistro
238 Madison Ave, Frnt 1, New York City, NY 10016-2816 (Manhattan)
212-447-1919
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Madison Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4,538 of 11,750 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $30 - $40
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Cross street: 37th Street
Transit: 4,5,6 to Grand Central
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pissy little faux french brat maitre d'”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

Very rude wanna-be french maitre d' who was condescending from the moment we walked in. Their wine list is poorly laid out - it listed Moulin a vent as 2007/2008. One would assume they had both 2007 and 2008 as a wine list must have a vintage attached to the wine. According to the know-it-all maitre d', this was not the case. It was one or the other: 2007 or 2008. They only had one. He acted as though it was normal to list several vintages although they only had one. The condescension continued throughout the meal. When we told him that we were both ordering the prix fixe and that we planned to share all the dishes, he insisted that we tell him who was ordering which dish for "placement" purposes. We had already told him we were sharing. When I pointed that out for the second time, he said, "Fine. It doesn't matter." Half of the dishes were good, some were mediocre. The tarte flambe was good. The bread was mediocre. The seafood overcooked. We had a Bloomspot that gave us $30 off the $142 bill. The maitre d' said, "You didn't tell us about this." I said, "I did. When I called. That's what the Bloomspot instructed to do." He then took it, and said, "Next time, give it to use when you walk in." What - so I could get even worse service? When I told him I was giving him a tip commensurate with his service, he became enraged. He followed outside the restaurant and asked us why. I explained to him how he was condescending to us the entire meal. He threw up his hands, exasperated, and said, "Fine!" As we crossed the street, he screamed, "And you used a Bloomspot!" Yeah, buddy. For $30. That's the cost of a digestivo, which a lot of good French restaurants give you for free. You get better service from Subway than from this fake Frenchie.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    39
    25
    7
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Well priced and good and friendly service. Very convienient to the Madison Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

No dislikes and the food was great. Friendly service and prices very compeditive with other resteraunts

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyack, NY
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Good food, terrific location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

This French restaurant, located near the Morgan Library and Museum and easily reached by subway, bus and a pleasant walk from Grand Central is a good alternative to the smaller take out and quick lunch places in the area. The food is fresh, the service is very good and the price is not gulp producing. The three course price fixed lunch is a deal.
The menu offers enough choices to make you plan your next visit. Standards like mussels, charcuterie and snails are available as is a very interesting mac and cheese. Some of the appetizers are fairly substantial and could stand for a light lunch. The dessert menu is maddening....makes you want a sampler plate.
The ambiance is intimate with a lower noise level than most. Overall, a satisfying experience.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Authentic French food in an elegantly casual atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

I had the salad appetizer, beef short ribs with the Grand Marnier Souffle and they were absolutely fantastic! Just like my grandmother used to make. Great French food without the oh la la!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Busy but delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

Food was amazing, staff attentive. Very busy restaurant which usually shows good quality and it did.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Madison Bistro also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Madison Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Madison Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.