We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice food in a good atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Madison Bistro

Madison Bistro
238 Madison Ave, Frnt 1, New York City, NY 10016 (Midtown)
+1 212-447-1919
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Madison Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3,864 of 11,180 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $28 - $45
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: 37th Street
Transit: 4,5,6 to Grand Central
Description: Madison Bistro is a French Bistro with a modern twist that is based on a mix of Godard's family recipes and traditional French recipes. Diners can enjoy the wonderful cuisine in the restaurant's dining hall that has a Parisian ambiance with a touch of classic French influence, all the while retaining its casual and classy atmosphere.
Siuntio, Finland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice food in a good atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

I had lovely chicken dish. Not overwhelming portions, (my first time in the states so wasn't quite sure what to expect. Would imagine it being a nice place for a date: candles and dim lighting.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    46
    28
    9
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bratislava, Slovakia
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

Fantastic french cuisine, nice service, good wine. We tried 6 different dishes and...delicious! Everyone was satisfied. Off course we did not forget about the deserts...fantastic! I recommend variety of sorbets dish. Worth to visit.

  • Visited April 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Cosy Setting, Average fare”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2011

We had dinner here a couple of weeks ago. The setting is warm and cozy, almost a tad too close. While we did not have any problems with our table conversation, we were lucky to have quiet neighbors. The wine list is decently long and prices are what I would call pretty reasonable. We went for the prix fixe dinner which is good value at $36 per person. The goat cheese salad was a winner with its varied flavors, the snails were a tad chewy and served with sizzling parsley butter, the gnocchi was nice but the pot-au-feu disappointed with its lack of flavor. Dessert was acceptable. Service was attentive especially from the chap from the Ivory Coast (didn't get his name), though the principal server did tend to disappear for long periods once the place started getting busier. Overall, a nice place if you catch one of the corner tables and want a leisurely time.

  • Visited March 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pfaffikon, Switzerland
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Prix fixe lunch is worth the money!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2011

The Madison Bistro is a french influenced restaurant at Madison Avenue in Midtown Manhattan! They have a really good 3 course prix fixe lunch. I tried the Avocado & Crab, the Steak with French Fries and as a dessert the apple tart with vanilla ice cream! I definitely liked the appetizer and dessert, the Steak was great.. the french fries were not very good (oil too old?)

  • Visited March 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Shocking treatment”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2011

We have been going to this place for years for its good basic bistro fare. On Sunday we sat down and ordered a bottle of Chablis. When the cork was pulled the sickening odor of cork mold swept across the table. We rejected the bottle and asked for the wine list. The manager, Melvin, came over and told us there was nothing wrong with the wine and if we didn't accept it the waitress would have to pay for it! Melvin said the owner, Claude Godard, had this policy and there was nothing he could do. I paid for the wine to protect the waitress and left. I will never return.

Visited February 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Madison Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Madison Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Madison Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.