We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food Lots of Fun” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bubba Gump Shrimp Co.

Bubba Gump Shrimp Co.
1501 Broadway, New York City, NY 10036-5505 (Manhattan)
212-391-7100
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #259 of 11,751 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Manhattan
NEW YORK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Food Lots of Fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

I would highly recommend Bubba Gump's in Times Square, there was a 30 min wait but it was well worth it. We went with a group of twelve people for my son's home coming from Afghanistan and my daughters birthday. The food was delicious, the wait staff very attentive and up beat and you must try the specialty drinks, outstanding! A great time was had by all! A must visit while in New York

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,983 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,826
    1,500
    473
    129
    55
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great food, great service, fantastic memorabilia!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

I cannot recommend Bubba Gump's highly enough, especially if seafood is your thing, which it isn't for me. If you time it right and visit around 2-3pm you should find your wait time isn't too long, as long as your are happy to have a big lunch and a small snack for dinner - which is what we did most days.

The setup in there is fantastic, with the "run Forrest, run" sign on your table if you don't want to be bothered, and the "stop Forrest, stop" sign for when you would like to be served. My other half had the ribs on our two visits there as she isn't a big fan of shrimp or fish, I had fried shrimp the first time and I forget what it was the second. The food was fantastic, I would definitely recommend trying this place at least once. The service was brilliant too, the waiting staff could not do enough for us.

The memorabilia in itself is a whole other reason to visit the restaurant, with key props from the set and part the decor being set around Forrest's house.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

We had a lush time here on our last night in Newyork, we had to wait twenty minutes for a table and it was well worth it ,our waiter travois was outstanding , we paid $142 for three of was to eat that's with a starter, main meAl and drinks

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Outstanding place / good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Outstanding place to share moments with friends... I really enjoyed every part of the restaurant with all the movie stuff, recommend to go with friends and have a good time there !!!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
269 reviews 269 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
“Go for the themed atmosphere & location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

It's located in Times Square with awesome views from the upper level. It's decorated with Forrest Gump memorabilia, and the service is fantastic. The wait staff definitely gets into the theme and you can tell that they enjoy working there. It's fun and lively with a huge selection of food and drinks. We had an early dinner on a Thursday evening (around 6:00 PM), and there was a minimal wait time (about 15 minutes). They sat us at a window overlooking Times Square. A perfect introduction to city life. Our server was extremely helpful and attentive when describing the menu items. No issues with the friendliness of the wait staff. The food was just average. The only item that knocked my socks off was the order of Seafood Hush Pups. These hush puppy bites are amazing! It's unique because it's made with bits of fish and shrimp. Loved that it had whole kernels of corn. Didn't even need the remoulade dipping sauce it was served with. The other dishes were good, but not anything to write home about. I had the Shrimp New Orleans which was a bit too salty, and my husband had the Shrimper's Heaven. Please keep in mind that the picture on the menu does not show you the chilly shrimp. The chilly shrimp is not fried. It's boiled peel and eat shrimp. It's great if you're expecting it, but not so great if you don't like boiled shrimp (and they give you lots of it). The coconut shrimp was the star of the 4 different styles of shrimp served. Should have gotten the Dumb Luck Coconut Shrimp as an entrée instead of the sampler. Will do that on our next visit. It's still a great experience and a great location.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bubba Gump Shrimp Co. also viewed

 

Been to Bubba Gump Shrimp Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bubba Gump Shrimp Co., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.