We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plainfield, Nj” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Joe's Crab Shack

Joe's Crab Shack
1195 Corporate Drive, New York City, NY 11590
(516) 745-6728
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7,663 of 11,751 Restaurants in New York City
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Bronx, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Plainfield, Nj”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

The food was great, but the service left something to be desired. There were a lot of empty tables and not enough servers. The service was slow and we kept having to ask for the same things. I have been to this restaurant before and had a great experience. I don't think I will ever go back.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    4
    5
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“$25.99 for fried crumbs!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

I ordered the so-called lobster bites that actually was no more than fried crumbs...disgusting! I'll never go back to this place! Don't see what the fuss was all about!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montauk, New York
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Yummy Food, Nice Atmosphere, Attentive Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

What a fun place. Good Shrimp! Great Staff that was attentive, pleasant and they looked like THEY were also enjoying their job...which you dont always see. We had lunch and our party all said they enjoyed it. Despite it being a busy time of year, the meal was served timely and HOT :) Th little dance thing they did was cute too. The prices were on the higher side but since all else was so good, thats okay too. We'lll be returning.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queens, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Definitely Salt City”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Nice choice for large groups looking for lively atmosphere. Waiter was truly amazing. Not sure about the dancing routine but hey.

Drinks wete pretty and delish. Calamari was the best I have ever had - ok so it was all in the breading but I would go back just for that. My mango salmon was also delish. However my husband got a steam pot with 2 lobsters, king crab, clams etc. It comes in an impressively large container and my husband found the size reasonable for the price. Most of the clam shells were empty though. I tasted a piece of hubby's lobster and it was full of salt. Not sure how he ate it all. We also bought crab nachos to go - again salty.

May go back since hubby liked it there.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Eat at joe's? I wouldn't again”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

I've been intrigued to try this chain. The premise: a couple of lads set out to scour the country for authentic seafood recipes and present it at affordable prices. Well, if my Cajun seafood pot was any indicator, they failed. Adding crushed hot pepper in massive amounts to cover seemingly turning Crustacea is not quality dining; it was barely edible. Add in loud music and a very loud "celebration" they perform every half hour or so, and we couldn't wait to get our check, which was plenty heavy considering the meals we received.

Disappointing. Red lobster is a better bet IMHO. When on Long Island, make the trip to island park and go to Jordan's lobster farm. No frills, inexpensive, and very good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe's Crab Shack also viewed

 

Been to Joe's Crab Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Joe's Crab Shack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.