We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pietro's

Pietro's
232 East 43rd Street, New York City, NY 10017-4702 (Manhattan)
212 682 9760
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,515 of 11,777 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $55 - $55
Cuisines: Italian, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Virginia
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

Walked from Helmsley Hotel and we were so glad we did. We arrived at 5:30 and there was hardly anyone there so we were a bit nervous. But it filled up as we had dinner. Definitely an older restaurant. The curtains and pictures all hanging in a row all very "old school." But all in all the place was delightful. The service was wonderful. Waiters were attentive and friendly. And the food was amazing. The caesar salad was delicious but I must admit I was disaapointed in the lettuce. Looked like iceberg. I would still get it again. Very tasty!
I had the veal marsala. Loved it. We ordered broccoli rabe and potatoes. Both wonderful. We eat a lot of Italian food and the food here is really delicious. The portions were large so we had too much food (we probably shouldn't have ordered the potatoes). We had to leave it since we had no refrigerator in the room :-( I would definitely go back if I was in this part of the city. We were impressed.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    14
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Like eating History”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

My Uncle took me to Pietro's during our most recent market trip to New York. He told me we had to eat here as this is where my great uncle Morris always came when he was buying for our 88 year old family business. Although in an new, larger location than when Morris came, it felt like I was back in the past eating with my Uncle Morris. The food was fantastic classic Italian fare. The service made me feel like I had been coming for the past 40 years.
The Shrimp appetizer was delicious and the Shell pasta with cheese was so creamy and delicious. I had a classic cabresi (sp?) salad that had such flavorful tomato and mozzerela that I would have ordered more if it was not for the enourmous Veal Chop they were bringing me.
Pietro's is the original and classic New York Italian eatery!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Outstanding Service and great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2011

Pluses: wonderful, experienced service team; outstanding owner, great drink selection and terrific food

Minuses: somewhat difficult to get a cab

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
296 reviews 296 reviews
233 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
“Good old school Italian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

Old school Italian sums this place up. The caesar salad was awesome made right at the table by the waiter the old fashioned way. I've heard they have been rated best caesar salad in the city. The portions are ridiculously big - you'll be taking a doggie bag home and eating leftovers for days. Everything tastes great and comes out very fast. The staff is courteous and knowledgeable and very attentive. Highly recommend this place for a good Italian meal on the East side of Manhattan. They also have some good dessert if you have enough holes in your belt.

  • Visited March 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asbury Park, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing everything”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

I came here to eat on an indulgent excursion. The history of this place is amazing, any where that was frequented by Joe Dimaggio and Marilyn Monroe had to be good, and good it was. This is easily the best steakhouse I have encountered, they have it down to a science. The service, food, ambiance. Everything was impeccable. Pricey but well worth it. Great place for a romantic dinner or special occassion.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pietro's also viewed

 

Been to Pietro's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pietro's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.