We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Japanese Food Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of EN Japanese Brasserie

EN Japanese Brasserie
435 Hudson St, New York City, NY 10014-3941 (Manhattan)
212-647-9196
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
EN Japanese Brasserie is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #209 of 11,777 Restaurants in New York City
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Home Style
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Cross street: Leroy Street
Transit: The Varick street station (1,9) located at west Houston and 7th ave, is the closest train to EN Japanese Brasserie. From the station walk one block west to Hudson Street, turn right, and then walk two blocks north to leroy st. - the west 4th street station (A, C, E, F, D or V) is the next closest station. From the station walk west from 6th ave.
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Japanese Food Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

That's a Japanese address that should not be missed in NY!
Amazing culinary experience, from the restaurant interior, to the great choice of sashimi, sushi and Japanese dishes. The sake selection is also great, you can even get a small description of each sake you order.
The best Salmon sashimi is the best I have ever had, try also the Toro sashimi, any sushi is great, even their soy sauce is different and tasty.
Their tasting menu is truly surprisingly great.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    53
    4
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Minimal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

And cool. A great place with a brilliant Japanese minimal edge to it. A huge selection so sakes and the dishes were delightful. Service was perfect and the whole night ended up being spotless. As with any good Japanese restaurant, you pay for what you get. So expect a hefty bill.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Branch restaurant of en in Japan”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

I think this is a great authentic Japanese restaurant. Atomosphere is wonderful.
Food is almost everything great.
The selection of sake and Shochu are amazing.

Price is a little high.

We normally enjoy food here a lot.
However the pre fix menu for restaurant week was not really good bargain.
I think they can do a little better job for it.

One more thing,
We had a reservation on that night. We were late 10 min. because of bad traffic.
We called there to tell them that we are so close (if normal traffic navigator told 1min away from that restaurant) but we will be late. Then we asked them to hold a talbot for 10 more min.
I couldn't say her answer was flexible or even kind.

It was very disappointing because we liked this place.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Amazing Dining Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We had an amazing dining experience catching up with friends here. We recommend doing the tasting menu to try most what the restaurant has to offer. We also enjoyed a "local honey" cocktail which was very unique. Overall, excellent service and a great place to share a special long meal. Extra thanks to the host for pushing our reservation back as we had out of town guests who were delayed in traffic. Greatly appreciated that

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campinas, SP
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing "japanese" experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

This restaurant is amazing!
Brings you a different experience, with a excellent kitchen view, charming and exotic plates,true japanese staff !! They only speak japanese with each other, and every plate comes with an explanation!
A must Go!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed EN Japanese Brasserie also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to EN Japanese Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage EN Japanese Brasserie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.