We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my new favourite places in NY” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The High Line

The High Line
820 Washington Street, New York City, NY 10014
212 206-9922
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$30*
and up
New York High Line Park Walking Tour
Ranked #18 of 633 Attractions in New York City
Type: Parks, Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The High Line is an elevated railway transformed into a public park on Manhattan's West Side. The park features lush horticulture, artworks, seasonal food vendors, community programing, and unique views of the Hudson River and New York City skyline. The High Line runs between Gansevoort Street to West 34th Street, between 10th and 11th Avenues.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“One of my new favourite places in NY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Someone with vision created this unbelievable park above the city. You get views that you would never get anywhere else. The park itself is gorgeous - using the old train tracks as part of the design. There is plenty of room and while it was busy nearing lunch, it never felt crowded. We had lunch from the stands (tacos and a sandwich) and a glass of wine overlooking the river. Honestly - cannot say enough about this and truly believe it is a MUST do during a visit to New York.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13,606 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9,067
    3,617
    786
    109
    27
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vasteras, Sweden
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Lovely park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

This park is rather new and still under construction. The museum is due to open shortly (early 2014 I think). In the mean-time you can still enjoy this amazing park located above the streets between 10th and 11th avenue from 16th to 31st street (approx).

The park is crowded on a hot summer's day, but I'd recommend all visitors to NYC to try to squeeze in a visit. The park has a beautiful green landscape with the old rails still visible, flowing water on the ground for cooling your feet, sun-chairs, and a gift-shop so you can support the non-profit organization that operates the park.

Go there. You won't regret it ;)

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Well kept secret”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

I had not come across this in the typical tourist guides, but so glad I found it on Tripadvisor. It's an oasis in bustling NYC giving unique views from the elevated walkways and ideal for photos. Great coffee and food stalls above 15th St. Will be returning later this week before heading home.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milpitas, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Love ny because of high line”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

I walked along high line with snowing at my second ny visit in March. I stayed at financial district and went some landmarks during my first visit, I do not like the city that much. But this time I went to soho, high line, it totally changed my mind.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“interesting walk in the park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We liked the 10 block walk at sunset. the peace and tranquillity was good. Nice views of a transitioning part of town You see the Hudson and Jersey too.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The High Line also viewed

 

Been to The High Line? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The High Line, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.