We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Property---if you remove all the people there” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Room Mate Grace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Room Mate Grace to your Saves list
Room Mate Grace
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   125 West 45th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #261 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great Property---if you remove all the people there”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2010

The Room was spacious, two of us stayed in a triple room that had an overhead bunkbed. I had stayed at this hotel when it used to be under different management and was called Hotel QT about 5 years ago.

I guess I've aged, and the clientele hasn't. They still throw pool parties, which I personally think put a damper on things in the hotel. I couldn't help but roll my eyes a little every time i passed the pool (elevators right in front of the pool bar).

The service itself was average for being a hotel in New York, but below average for the price we were paying. It took them a day to fix the phone and light bulb in our room. And checking in took forever. Like f o r e v e r.

Maid service came knocking on our door at 8.30am. EIGHT THIRTY. Who does that? When we didn't answer, they opened up saw us sleeping and said they'd come back later. Well, yeah, it's only 8am. Maid service came back again later and then asked if we wanted our room clean... I mean all this before 10am. I found that a bit too much. However, it only happened our first morning there (We stayed a total of 3 nights).

The walls are THIN. The room next door was loud and we could hear them in the hallway and outside their door.

There was a young man behind the front desk that was very nonchalant in answering questions we had. We were worried about the yellow cabs not being able to store all our luggage (We had 4 big suitcases), he didn't even bother to offer us different car services ie. town cars, suvs. He just said "don't worry about it, it'll fit".

Well,
1. It didn't fit.
2. Do your job and give me my options.

It's almost sad, the property is great, the rooms are fun and funky. But man, the people just ruin it. And the wifi is like... a huge joke. Thank goodness it was free. That's probably why it wasn't working half the time.

I'd love to give it another chance, because I do have fond memories of it, but I have a sneaky suspicion that it's just targeted to a much younger demographic (I'm not even 30 yet!) and the service has just gone down hill.

We stayed at the Muse earlier part of our trip, and I think I'll be sticking with that from now on.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,986 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    728
    836
    242
    102
    78
See reviews for
244
936
124
166
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seoul
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2010

The best thing about this hotel is proximity to Time square for relatively low price. I & my friends had very good time there, and it was so convinient to go out and get in. But I wish TV in my room to get fixed, because a thick vertical black line on screen bothered us during watching TV.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2010

We stayed in Grace for 8 days and it was fantastic - we had a room on the 15th floor - perfect - high enough up to miss the noise of being in the heart of the city.The hotel is positioned on 45th Street between 6th and 7th Avenuses - perfect for broadway and all of the other Manhattan attractions.Hotel itself was great small swimming pool with a swim up bar - perfect place to relax tired feet and legs, good music and a little gym - ideal. The breakfast room on our first morning seemed a little daunting - self service - but once we found our way around the various stations, the standard was terrific. Lots of chatter etc a great way to meet and make new friends. We loved it and if this is the standard of Room Mate hotels we will certainly use them again on our travels.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2010

This hotel had an amazing location (right in time square), a really trendy bar/pool area and awesome free breakfast, BUT our room was extremely hot! We complained to the staff daily and they stated it was fixed but it was never any cooler than about 80 degrees in the room. The maintenance guy said he would bring us a portable a/c unit after his fourth visit to our room and never returned. i called the front desk and they said there were no fans available (they were all being used). i would have said this was one amazing hotel if we had just been able to sleep comfortably..... Suchs to sweat all night on your vacation!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2010

We stayed six nights at Grace and were very satisfied over our stay. We hade some great expectations due to mostly positive reviews here at Trips, and we thought the gave us the correct picture over the hotel.

The rooms were stylish and pretty small, but with many smart solutions for storing suitcases, etc. Large bathroom. We stayed at the 14th floor and hade no problems with noise. Though, you could hear the traffic outside, but it wasn't disturbing.

The breakfast was actually very good - they had almost everything you wanted so we were pleased, especially as it was included in the room rate.

The hotel is very convenient situated near the Times Square where almost every subway line are crossed which make the location very good for sightseeing around Manhattan and Brooklyn.

You must go to the Meatpacking District and have dinner or a drink at both Spice Market and Pastis. Don't forget the Highline too, a garden made around some rail tracks situated ten meters up in the air.

We were also very satisfied with the staff - the were all friendly and informative.

We would like to recommend Room mate Grace for mostly all travelers that would like to have some extra bucks for drinking and eating, instead of expensive hotels.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philly
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2010

A recent trip to NYC reminded me that I never got around to reviewing Room mate Grace. I tried to get a room here again, but the hotel was booked. I really wish I had been successful. Room mate Grace is a great value in a convenient location. The rooms are spacious and a free breakfast is included. I will definitely try to stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2010

Incredible location in Times Square, with pool and breakfast!

Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Room Mate Grace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room Mate Grace

Address: 125 West 45th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#220 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#221 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Room Mate Grace 3.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hidden gem in the heart of Times Square, Room Mate Grace is located nearby Bryant Park, Broadway, and Rockefeller Center. Room Mate Grace is the stylish solution for the savvy traveler who wishes to experience the sophistication and fun New York has to offer. Room Mate Grace features a unique lobby and event space, complete with an indoor pool, sauna, and steam room. The 24 hour kiosk is stocked with everything from the most basic supplies to the most decadent treats. Stadium stairs lead to the mezzanine level, a haven for VIPs in the evening and early risers heading off to work who enjoy continental breakfast in style and comfort. The mezzanine doubles as meeting space for those looking to work creatively. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Splendia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Room Mate Grace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Room Mate Grace Hotel New York City
Hotel Qt New York
Qt Hotel New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Room Mate Grace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.