We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central in the city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Room Mate Grace

Save Saved
You added Room Mate Grace to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Room Mate Grace
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   125 West 45th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #241 of 452 hotels in New York City
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Central in the city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Great location and very easy to find - round the corner from Times Square - funky rooms and friendly staff. Pool has very groovy lighting ! Super Irish bar couple of doors away with buy two get one free !

Room Tip: All good -higher floor quiet if you want that in this city !
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,796 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    656
    766
    216
    94
    64
See reviews for
222
831
121
155
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We booked a 3 night stay in New York at the Room Mate Grace hotel and to be honest I didn't know what to expect.

On arrival it didn't look great as we were left to struggle with our bags through a tiny revolving door as staff looked on. Also, the lobby, check-in area is small as is most of the hotel but on a strange level it had an appeal which I couldn't put my finger on. Check-in was problem free and when we arrived back in the hotel after dropping off the hire car we were greeted more pleasantly. I put the initial reception down to the fact they were busy and not generally staffed like a mainstream hotel chain.

Rooms were strangely laid out but no different to that portrayed on the website. Showers were good and powerful although the bathroom did lack a degree of privacy. No real shakes here though. Some rooms we saw were a bit too small though without enough room to open suitcases etc. This is however common in NYC where space is at a premium.

The pool was a nice touch, and rare in NYC, after a hard day pounding the sidewalks. I couldn't help feel the hotel could have made more of it with the adjacent swim up bar which always seemed closed during the day and early evening.

Overall the stay was a good one and for the money the Room Mate Grace offered good value. The hotels location is superb for discovering New York on foot being close to Times Square in the middle of Manhattan. Some good bars and restaurants are within easy walking distance. Hotel was quirky and a nice change to the normal chains.

One criticism is that I received an unsigned letter from the hotel on my last day indicating that had anything not been satisfactory then I should tell them - not an online review site. This I find particularly annoying as I am not employed as the hotels QA and really they should ensure everything was Ok before I arrived so I didn't have to complain that the television and iron didn't work. A quick check of the rooms/appliances whilst cleaning would have sorted this out before I even turned up. I don't want to spend my holiday e-mailing people re problems - there should be no problems!

Room Tip: I expect all rooms are noisy to a degree being in the centre of New York. I'd try and get a hig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Nothing like I expected. Small; in dire need of decoration; over priced and pokey. Was extremely disappointed as location is excellent but was expecting a more boutique-like establishment and this felt more like a hostel. Changed rooms as first one was too small for two adults, but second one was too run down to be comfortable.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The rooms are small, but the location is wonderful! The staff is very friendly and helpful and the rooms are clean. Don't let the low ceiling in the lobby fool you. The rooms are quite nice. Considering the price of other hotels in Time Square, this place is a deal!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed in this hotel last month for 3 nights in middle of July. One positive, this hotel is in a great location, times square is literally outside the front door and to the right.
On arrival, was given key to room, it wouldn't work, so had to go downstairs and key new key, again didnt work so had to give a heavy shoulder to enter the room, walked in and the bed wasn't made and it was untidy, I was in shock, but what made me even more shocked was that the reception had gave us the key for somebody else's room, as they still had their clothes in the wardrobes.
Upon informing reception, they seem perplexed almost hinting at us making a mistake, they gave us a new key for a new room and sent the cleaner up with us who confirmed the first room was indeed occupied.
The staff throughout were very 'wooden', not friendly, and not representative of american customer service which I had grown accustomed to during my visit.
The breakfast was majorly processed meats, individuals with limited English who continually and almost aggressively made me repeat what I was looking for, this process grew tedious.
The only pleasant member of staff was the concierge who helped me with my bags upon leaving, he was a gentleman, and from my experience the only decent staff member.
Won't be back on my next trip.

Room Tip: Make sure you are given a room which other guests are not occupying
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I travel to New York often and I try to book a different hotel each time. I came across Room Mate Grace and was first hesitant due to a few of the bad reviews online. I'm happy I don't believe everything I read! The bed was ridiculously comfortable. I admittedly had trouble waking up for my workshops in the morning. The bathroom was surprisingly spacious for a New York Hotel. Another plus was the breakfast. It wasn't that expensive (just over $10) and I could fill up on waffles and sausages. I found the staff to be nice and accommodating, they would greet me whenever I passed the front desk (small detail that's important to me). All in all, great experience. I'd book again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Expectations were not met.
Unfortunately were put in a room at the front of the building on the lowest floor. Were asked to be put on a higher floor at the back due to extreme street noise and had terrible attitude from staff at front.
Rooms are tiny. Didn't expect large rooms but barely had room for suitcases.
Wouldn't stay here again and would not recommend.
Only good thing was location. Right next to Times Square.
Will stay elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlvaroDiazMartos, Manager at Room Mate Grace, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us.

I can say with confidence that we have a responsive and empathetic team here at Room Mate Grace Hotel, and we always try to do what we can to ensure that our guests have a satisfying experience.

Unfortunately, two of the things that we cannot change, in an effort to make your stay more enjoyable, is our location and the layout of our rooms.

Most of our guests enjoy staying at our Hotel because it is only steps away from Times Square. It allows them the opportunity to explore all that the city has to offer and then return to the Hotel for a nice rest, shower and breakfast.

If you ever do plan on booking with us again, because of the convenience, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Warmest regards,

Alvaro Diaz Martos
Assistant Hotel Director
Room Mate Grace Hotel New York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Room Mate Grace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room Mate Grace

Address: 125 West 45th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Theater District - Times Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#186 Family Hotel in New York City
#209 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Room Mate Grace 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hidden gem in the heart of Times Square, Room Mate Grace is located nearby Bryant Park, Broadway, and Rockefeller Center. Room Mate Grace is the stylish solution for the savvy traveler who wishes to experience the sophistication and fun New York has to offer. Room Mate Grace features a unique lobby and event space, complete with an indoor pool, sauna, and steam room. The 24 hour kiosk is stocked with everything from the most basic supplies to the most decadent treats. Stadium stairs lead to the mezzanine level, a haven for VIPs in the evening and early risers heading off to work who enjoy continental breakfast in style and comfort. The mezzanine doubles as meeting space for those looking to work creatively. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Splendia, Tingo, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotel.de, Otel and Venere so you can book your Room Mate Grace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Room Mate Grace Hotel New York City
Hotel Qt New York
Qt Hotel New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Room Mate Grace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.