We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Won't be staying here again” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Room Mate Grace

Save Saved
You added Room Mate Grace to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Room Mate Grace
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   125 West 45th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #237 of 452 hotels in New York City
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Won't be staying here again”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Expectations were not met.
Unfortunately were put in a room at the front of the building on the lowest floor. Were asked to be put on a higher floor at the back due to extreme street noise and had terrible attitude from staff at front.
Rooms are tiny. Didn't expect large rooms but barely had room for suitcases.
Wouldn't stay here again and would not recommend.
Only good thing was location. Right next to Times Square.
Will stay elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,777 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    651
    758
    212
    93
    63
See reviews for
220
819
121
154
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

This hotel has the perfect location if you want to be near Times Square. The rooms are small, but they are clean and modern. Loida at the front desk went out of her way to give us great service. I have owned at one time over 150 retail stores and it is very hard to find an employee that cares about her job and customers like she does. Management can grow their business by taking care of employees like Loida. She recommended places to eat that were close and they were not priced like normal NY tourist places. I will differently come back and stay here

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is literally just off of Times Square. The rooms are small but adequate and the breakfast (10.95 extra) was decent. Would I stay here again - you bet. The staff were friendly and helpful, rooms were clean and comfortable, location was great. Beds are platform beds just slightly higher than normal beds and require that you climb up into them so they would not be accessible for many disabled people.

Room Tip: We had three rooms on two floors and a distance apart. All were good. The rooms next to the elevator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlvaroDiazMartos, Manager at Room Mate Grace, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Guest,

I am so happy that you had an overall great stay with us.

Please come back again. We look forward to seeing you, and next time take some time out to enjoy the rest of our amenities, like the sauna, steam room and swim-up bar.

Friendly and helpful service is a very important part of our Room Mate philosophy, so I am really glad you got the "Roomie" experience.

Hope you had a safe trip back home.

Warmest regards,

Alvaro Diaz Martos
Assistant Hotel Director
Room Mate Grace Hotel New York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great location to local attractions (Times Square, Rockerfeller, shops etc) and a very laid-back hotel. Service was excellent and although breakfast bar seems small it had some good food. Steam room / Sauna not open during stay (part of the reason for booking) however pool was a welcome "wake up" in the morning. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlvaroDiazMartos, Manager at Room Mate Grace, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Guest.

Thank you so much for writing such a nice review about your stay with us!

I am very happy to see that you liked all our amenities and the service from our staff. In Room Mate Hotels we pride ourselves in providing the best customer service in the industry. I will share this review with them so that they can see that their hard work is rewarded.

We offer quality products in the breakfast, and given our location, in the heart of Times Square, our price is unbeatable. We know how tiring this city can be, so in Room Mate Grace we want our guests to have a good breakfast in the morning so that they can start their day with lots of energy.

The steam room is currently under renovation, and it will reopen this weekend. The sauna has been working non-stop. During your stay, any member of our staff would have been happy to assist you with turning it on in case it was disconnected.

I hope to welcome you personally again soon.

Warmest regards,

Alvaro Diaz Martos
Assistant Hotel Director
Room Mate Grace Hotel New York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Alvaro, the manager (or something) was so nice and really listened to our small wishes! Some solution he promised was not hold and for that he gave us free drinks! The room was nice and the stuff very helpfull. The hotel lies so close to Times Square so if you like musicals like me and my wife this hotel is more than perfect!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
AlvaroDiazMartos, Manager at Room Mate Grace, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Patrick and Christina.

Thank you for taking your time to write such a beautiful review about your stay with us!

It was a pleasure meeting you both and I really enjoyed helping you out with everything I could.

I look forward to welcoming you soon in any of our Room Mate Hotels around the world.

Hope you had a safe trip back home.

Warmest regards,

Alvaro Diaz Martos
Assistant Hotel Director
Room Mate Grace Hotel New York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have stayed here on two occasions for business. In terms of location, this hotel is fantastic!! It is centrally located just a few steps away from Times Square. The reception staff were very friendly and professional. The room I had was small, the bed was extremely comfortable and I believe the windows must have been double glazed as I did not hear any noise from the street (I was on the third floor). A couple of downsides: The cleaning could be improved, lighting in general throughout the hotel could be improved (hallways, elevators etc) and turn down the AC in the lobby...apart from that Room Mate Grace is a hotel I would return to for location and convenience.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlvaroDiazMartos, Manager at Room Mate Grace, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest.

Thank you so much for taking your time to write such candid review about your experience at Room Mate Grace.

I love to see these reviews and share them with my staff, since we learn so much from our mistakes and can improve our service day by day.

I already addressed this review with my Housekeeping Manager in order to keep a closer eye when inspecting the rooms. Trust me, there is nothing I dislike more than comments about our cleanliness.
When you speak about the lights in the hotel, I understand your concerns, but the hotel was designed to have a relaxed atmosphere, hence the dim lights. It is part of our concept.

Regarding the temperature in the lobby, because it is summertime, it is set at a level where most people feel comfortable.

I would like to see you soon in our hotel, so please feel free to email me personally at a.diaz@room-matehotels.com when planning your next visit. I will be delighted to help you in anything you may need.

Warmest Regards,

Alvaro Diaz Martos
Assistant Hotel Director
Room Mate Grace Hotel New York.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Standard room small but adequate. We just slept in room after a tiring day.
Requested a room on a higher floor away from the elevator which we were allocated. Floor 14, comfortable bed, very quite, room clean, good shower, iron and small ironing board which was handy. One chair and small table but you can sit on ledge alongside bed and window.

Shower and toilet together but used to this back home.

Bed in corner of room next to wall, partner had to clamber over me to get out of the bed during the night to use the bathroom.

Staff always welcoming and helpful. Particularly Luis.

Excellent location.

Swimming pool - not sure how much this was used. When used later at night the pool was hidden and there seemed to be a member of staff supervising. I liked the smell of chlorine when waiting for the lift.

Did not have breakfast in hotel but good deli's nearby.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlvaroDiazMartos, Manager at Room Mate Grace, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear guest.

Thank you so much for taking your time to write a review about your stay at Room Mate Grace.

I loved reading your review, it helps us to keep going with motivation and enthusiasm. I will share all these comments with my staff so they can be rewarded as well. They all try their best so our guests leave our premises really satisfied.

I look forward to welcoming you personally soon in any Room Mate Hotel around the world.

Best,

Alvaro Diaz Martos
Assistant Hotel Director
Room Mate Grace Hotel New York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Room Mate Grace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room Mate Grace

Address: 125 West 45th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Theater District - Times Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#185 Family Hotel in New York City
#203 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Room Mate Grace 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hidden gem in the heart of Times Square, Room Mate Grace is located nearby Bryant Park, Broadway, and Rockefeller Center. Room Mate Grace is the stylish solution for the savvy traveler who wishes to experience the sophistication and fun New York has to offer. Room Mate Grace features a unique lobby and event space, complete with an indoor pool, sauna, and steam room. The 24 hour kiosk is stocked with everything from the most basic supplies to the most decadent treats. Stadium stairs lead to the mezzanine level, a haven for VIPs in the evening and early risers heading off to work who enjoy continental breakfast in style and comfort. The mezzanine doubles as meeting space for those looking to work creatively. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Splendia, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your Room Mate Grace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Room Mate Grace Hotel New York City
Hotel Qt New York
Qt Hotel New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Room Mate Grace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.